Lifehack logo

30 Days Challenge

Making your own challenges

By Alice FoxPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Cut out trousers not your style? Fair enough, maybe you need something with more social contact, well don’t you worry, we serve that here too!

You may have already seen these ’30-day music challenges’ circulating Instagram. If not, don’t worry I am here to inform.

Basically, every day there you have to pick a song that fits a specific theme, for example ‘a song you like with a location in the title’. If you are filled with mass amounts of shame about your music taste, a) we would have a lot to bond over and b) this activity may not be for you.

That’s where this idea stems from. Me and some chums came up with our own version titled ’30 days of our music’. The idea of this chart is to bring up music memories you have with your chums while also getting both of you to discover each other’s music.

Here is the one I made. The themes vary from easy, like a song that would get you both dancing to hard, like a song that would represent a TV show about their life. Get the gist?

If you’re making it for a certain friend/group of friends, you could be way more specific. Like a song from a gig you’ve been to, or a song you’ve both cried to. I considered doing this, but I wanted the maximum amount of music income I could manage so kept it quite vague.

Once you have your songs you can do whatever you want with them! I have a friend who just listens to it on repeat for that day, I myself add them to a playlist and also add a little post it notes with it written on onto the chart. Note here, if you’ve given out the chart to a large group you might want to keep your squares quite big as I’m already struggling with spacing.

Now maybe you’re thinking to yourself, wow Alice, bold of you to assume everyone likes music. Well I would never. Maybe your thing is story writing or films or something of that sort. I’m also doing a version of this with my friend where once a week one of us picks a theme and writes a five-page short story on that. Then we exchange and it gives us both something to read and comment on and something to get the creativity out during the week.

I recommend this because if you want to you can give each other construction on the parts of the story you like and didn’t like. Maybe criticism isn’t for you, but it always makes me feel more productive and as if I’m doing real work.

Then if you want, share your story. Why not? Lord knows everyone is as if not more bored than you and looking for something to do.

You could also switch up the 30 days of our music to 30 days of our movies. Maybe it wouldn’t work with every square in my chart specifically, but you could change it to a movie you know the script to rather a song you know all the lyrics to.

See! Versatile, productive-feeling and a great way to keep conversation going with chums. In times like I think we can all agree we need each other more than ever but starting chats over social media can sometimes feel a bit awkward and forced (just me? I am known for overthinking I wouldn’t be surprised). I love using this because it means every day, I have a natural segway into conversation, and I get new music in the process!

My chart is free for all please take it, change it, sell it in exchange for toilet paper, whatever suits you. Be sure to tag me if you do, I wanna see my child doing its work!

Would anyone be interested in seeing playlist/stories? Let me know!

Instagram: @alice_the_sad

xx

crafts
Like

About the Creator

Alice Fox

Come for the content. Stay for the self depreciation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.