Lifehack logo

23 life lessons I wish I had learned earlier

1. Not everyone will like you.

By Dennis AndreiPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
Like

I apologize for breaking your soap bubble, but I can honestly say that not everyone will like you. No matter how nice you are. No matter how good you are. No matter how honest you are.

The sooner you accept that not everyone will like you, the better.

Whether you are good or bad, someone will criticize you. Someone will try to stop you or divert you from your course.

That's good. It's good that you have people who don't like you. It means that you are doing something right and some people are upset because you are doing better.They're upset that you're probably going to be successful and that they're capped. It happens.

Don't take people who criticize you too seriously, you will consume yourself, you will no longer trust yourself, you will think you are doing something wrong.

You just have to be more discriminating with the help you render toward other people.

2. Everything you do, you do first and foremost for yourself.

You probably want to save the world. I tell you the truth, you do it for yourself.

You want the world around you to stop suffering. Actually, you want that first and foremost for yourself. We are selfish, but that doesn't mean we can't do things for others, but first and foremost, we need to do things for ourselves.

You learn for yourself. Not for college, not for my mother, not for the Minister of Education, you learn for yourself, even if you don't learn what is right.

Nobody stops you from dropping out of college (I don't recommend it).

Nobody stops you from learning what you love. It's true you have to be skillful to see how you reconcile them.

It's all up to you, even if it doesn't seem like it. If you sit still waiting for everything to come to you, you probably won't do anything.

If you do your best to succeed, you will probably succeed.

3. Accept responsibility for your actions.

Good or bad work, take it on. Whatever it looks like, it represents you. Even if it didn't work out or you could do more, you can do it for now.

You will have bad times and good times. You will be more noticeable in your weak times than in your good times. People see mistakes more easily than good things.

You probably won't die. Go on and on with each hour of work. Work does not have to be for an employer. It may be for you and you may not receive any money.

Everything you do represents you, if you want to represent yourself exactly as you are, with all the qualities you have, prove it or endure criticism.

4. Not everyone will notice you.

That hurt. Very cool. I showed enthusiasm, I showed potential, but I was not taken into account. I am sincerely glad that this happened, it strengthened me and brought me down to earth.

When it's all up to you, it's like you have another control .

Not everyone has to pay attention to you. Not everyone should read you. You don't have to like them all.

You have to be the first to notice. After that the family. Then friends. Then you can handle it.

5. If you have no values, you will have no value.

Values ​​characterize and guide our behavior. You may be aware of certain values ​​or principles that you have, but the most important thing is to feel them.

If you feel that you are not doing what you are supposed to do, ask a few questions or talk to a friend. Clarify your thoughts.

The saddest thing is that you don't have any values. Do everything for attention and don't be interested in the substance at all. Just be superficial.

I sincerely believe that if you have no values, you have no value and you will not have any.

People will not trust you, they will feel that they do not know you, they will think that you have petty interests, they will assume that it is worse.

6. The more you give, the more you receive.

I didn't believe it at first. I didn't believe it when it was a year and a half since I offered and I didn't get much back. I was wrong. Many of the things I received, I did not realize.

I received more than I expected and still receive. I receive affection, friendship, support, moral support, and more. I get what I want and more than I want to receive.

Offer free advice, listen to people more than you talk to them, help them when they need it, even if they can't reward you then, they will return it to you at some point.

Not everyone has to give you something back. It is not a rule of reciprocity. What comes back is much stronger than what you offered.

Learn to give more than you receive. You will feel complex at some point.

Resist!

It will be really worth it.

7. Not everyone will be on your side.

You will not receive all the support you expect. Don't panic and most importantly don't bother. This is the reality.

Many will say that what you do is not the best choice. They don't know how you feel and what you really want.

Besides, you don't want everyone's support.

You just want the support of those who really understand you, you want the support of those who care about you the most.

8. You are the element of surprise.

Everyone asks me, “ Okay, but what can I get new? “.

From now on, I will use a standard answer: "with you".

You are the element of surprise, because probably a lot of people don't know anything about you, they don't have any extraordinary expectations, so it will be a bit easy for you to surprise them .

The personality of a blog depends entirely on your personality. The way you drive is totally influenced by your personal style. The way the world sees you is a combination of the things you convey.

You are the element of surprise, because no one expects too much from you. Take advantage of that.

9. You will be part of mediocrity for a long time.

The ladder of success is never crowded to the top. - Napoleon Hill . But it's damn crowded in the midst of mediocrity. Many gathered here.

Don't rush to the first step up there, maybe you're not ready yet or you probably don't deserve it yet.

But make your way through mediocrity, stand out, be noticed and remarkable. Ensure all the conditions for your success.

Earn your place on the podium, if you get on the ladder of success, you will stay there longer.

10. It's all up to you.

I don't know what others have told you, but it's all up to you. Attitude, education, success. Yes, it's all up to you.

Do you want a good job, a good boss, a good team? Any author of personal development articles or books will tell you the same thing, it's up to you.

It's no secret, it's pretty obvious. Too few people realize this.

Why? Because most are part of mediocrity.

amazes me

11. You have to stand out with something.

I said above that "you are the element of surprise", at least at the beginning. But in time, you will have to differentiate yourself through something.

By kindness, by logic, by experience, by acidity, by what characterizes you.

What are your strengths that you can build on?

What are your pasions?

What do you do differently from the rest of the world?

How exactly

You just have to be more discriminating with the help you render toward other people.

12. Sincerity and transparency make you credible, only if you know how to use them.

Sincerity and transparency are generally attributes that characterize you. But only when you know how to use them. Not everyone will understand. Not everyone understands why you're doing this. Some will even be suspicious.

Sincerity only works if you know how to use it. Just because you hurt people's feelings just because you want to be honest doesn't mean you've done the right thing.

Truth can drive people away or closer, depending on how skillfully used.

There is no guide to using the truth, this skill is gained only through exercise, trial & error.

13. At first you will need support.

I wrote earlier that not everyone will support you. But those who will support you, will represent your first audience, you address them at the beginning, you want to increase their well-being.

You need family, friends, and other acquaintances. At least as moral support. If you also have technical support and if it's free, you're one step ahead. If you have material or financial support, you've done it before. If you also have intellectual support, you will most likely succeed soon.

To think that you can do everything on your own is not crazy, that doesn't mean you have to try to do it on your own. If you can be helped, why not accept the help.

14. Money is just a means, not an end in itself.

If you say your goal is to make money, get hired. Thank your employer. It will probably give you more money. If you want to change the world, take the initiative and forget about money.

Yes, I want money. I want to make money. But that's not my goal. I want to have money to use as a mediator of experience. To travel around the world, I need money. In order to get some services, I probably have to invest some money.

To express my personal style, I may need money.

But money is not the goal. I'll spend the money, they'll go. I don't want to die rich, I want to die appreciative that I helped others, that I made their lives better.

Money is the devil's eye only when you aim for it. When you don't aim for them, it is a ticket to fulfilling a wish.

I sincerely want to live like a millionaire, to have freedom of decision, comfort, experiences. But for that you don't need millions, you need some non-material goals that will bring you closer to personal prosperity.

15. Don't take yourself too seriously.

Think about it.

16. You will fail, even more often than you expect.

Life is hard, it's not just about positive accomplishments. It's not that pink, but we tend to be that pink.

We will make mistakes along the way. Probably many times. What matters is what you do after what you do wrong. Did you learn anything? Have you changed in any way? Do you feel better?

It's hard to accept the fact that you screwed up, but often this way you can learn better and faster.

What doesn't kill you, either weakens you or makes you stronger, you choose.

17. Don't take on the failures and problems of others.

It was hard for me not to be affected by the problems around me. It was hard for me not to assume them, even if I had no power of influence.

It didn't work out for me at first. But over time, I learned to detach myself from the problems of others. That doesn't mean I don't care, that means I can stay strong so I can give the best support that depends on me.

Do not detach yourself from people, but do not burden your mind and soul with their problems. You have yours too.

We all move forward, even if it doesn't seem like it.

18. Don't forget about the people around you.

We sometimes tend to isolate ourselves, to drive certain people around us because they don't understand us.

We tend to forget about certain people. We don't contact them anymore, we lose touch, so when we meet them again, we don't recognize them or they don't recognize us anymore.

Somehow this is sometimes the natural order of human relationships. That doesn't mean the natural is good. What is considered normal is just caps or gaps.

You tend to have great relationships with the people around you. You'll see it's worth it. You will be more earned and educated. You will be happier.

You will be more supported and appreciated, you will be exactly as you want.

19. Apply the idea you have or give it up.

You have many ideas. Maybe more than mine. Ideas are free and have no value. They really don't. There are promises and dreams.

If you don't apply them, they will be worthless. You don't appreciate a man having a lot of ideas. You appreciate a man who has ideas that he has implemented and has had a result.

If you have an idea, implement it or give it up. Don't think about what it would have been like if you'd better say "I tried, but it didn't work out, that's it".

Your ideas are worth zero. Implementation costs. The effort is especially rewarding.

20. If you don't like it, you probably won't get too far.

Do you feel overwhelmed, overwhelmed and overwhelmed on all sides? Aren't you advancing in any way?

It all happens because you don't like what you do.

We can earn money from our passions, do what we want, and be successful.

Are you talking nonsense?

Why did others succeed? No, they are not smarter than us, they are braver than us. They had the courage to pursue their dreams. They had the courage to leave behind bad things and make sacrifices.

They actually have a step ahead of you. Probably the most important step. The step that brings all the logic into your mind. The step that involves the greatest responsibility.

21. Sometimes the spaces between the rows are what matter.

Learn to see things that are not seen and to understand things that are not explained.

The moments when you stop to reflect on the things you did not do can give you clarity.

The things you don't do are just as important as the things you do.

The fact that I chose not to talk only about books was a good strategy for this blog and many come for personal development articles.

The fact that I chose not to review fiction strikes many, but it also opens them up to the new and arouses their curiosity to read pragmatic books.

Choose not to do what others do, it may be exactly what you need to do. ⁇

22. Those who have succeeded have succeeded in doing the opposite at some point.

The reason there are no standard recipes for success is that at some point, you will have to use your counter-intuition and do what is not logical or the opposite.

The best boxers, instead of being wary, go head first.

Sometimes because I swore at a meeting or a presentation, I was able to win the sympathy of the people I was talking to.

The fact that I refused certain collaborations brought me better collaborations.

You have to learn to do the opposite, when? Well, at some point you will feel your heart pounding for not following the rules.

Listen to her, listen to her at least once to see what happens.

23. Apply only the tips that suit you.

Just take what suits you.

Don't try to assimilate everything.

You are not a copy-paste device.

Go through the personal filter of values ​​and principles and choose only what is according to your beliefs.

Conclusion after the 23 life lessons

Life is weird, but it's fun.

What you think you should do is not necessarily what you should do.

Sometimes it's good to take a break and think.

I know the article was a bit long, but how can you briefly summarize 23 years in a few life lessons.

These life lessons are not necessarily new lessons. But they are unique to me. They are characteristic of me

I've changed for the better over the years. I don't believe that, I feel it and I know it. I've become more responsible, I'm still dreamy, but I feel closer to my goals. I have found a good way for me that helps me every day.

By changing yourself, you change the world, and from the beginning you can start with these 23 life lessons.

list
Like

About the Creator

Dennis Andrei

My name is Denis and I like to play interesting games about wars and adventures. I will write interesting things and I hope you like it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.