Journal logo

You're actually exceptionally good at self-promotion. But are you promoting past you or future you?

People choose the Future You. Shouldn't you be teaching others about that person?

By Joanna BloorPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Yes, you, and, for that matter, so is everyone else. Every person you interact with today is promoting themselves to you and you to them.

Do this little thought exercise for a second...

Think about the last conversation you had with someone. Now answer the following questions:

Did it reinforce what you already knew about them?

Did it teach you something new about them?

Intentionally or not, we teach each other who we are and what we're all about with every conversation. What you're teaching people is your brand.

While I'm obsessed with how we should all have a better answer to the "What do you do?" question, it's just the first conversation. After that, every interaction reinforces who you are and what you're about or teaches the listener something new about you.

Why is this important? Because every decision made about you and your opportunities is made in a room you're not in. And that "room" might be a real room or might be the "room" of someone else's mind. If they're hiring, promoting, or putting you on a project someone else (or someone's) is asking the following:

Do I believe this person has the potential to do the things we think we need them to do?

  • While this decison is about you, it's not about you. It's what someone believes about you. Their perception of their potential.
  • The thing they need you to do is in the future.
  • What they believe about you is what you've taught them.

These decison-makers are choosing the Future You. The good news is you, then, get to decide if you want to say yes.

So now what?

I'm curious, what are you teaching people about you? Do you know? And if you do, is what you're teaching people serving the future you? Or is it, in fact, teaching people about the past you? Don't get me wrong here; the "past you" is brilliant, accomplished, goal-oriented, and an all-around terrific person. Please don't change.

But aren't you ambitious for more? Do you have aspirations for your version of a bigger and better future? While you're going to need all the fabulousness of "past you," don't you also want to evolve, change, and grow? And isn't this future version of yourself going to need other people to come along for the ride?

Don't you then need to teach people about the Future You? And yes, that is the definition of self-promotion with just a different label.

And now you get to choose. Because, as always, this is your life, and you get to decide how it's going to play out.

  • Option 1: I'm good with what I'm teaching others about me. In doing so, I'm creating opportunities for me that align with who I am and what I want. - As always, this is 100% ok. I'm super happy for you. Keep crushing it.
  • Option 2: I get what you're saying, Joanna, but I'm a bit nervous about talking about the Future Me. Plus, self-promotion feels so gross. I'm not comfortable doing it. That said, I consider myself ambitious, and I want to grow and learn. What can I do? - I get it. I'm not asking you to go out and start proclaiming that you're the best thing since sliced bread. Here's a challenge for you. The next time you're talking to someone, share what you're a "student of". For example, I am a student of Fairy Godmothers and Potentialism and their impact on the future of work.

Did that sound like obnoxious self-promotion, or did it make you think, "Hey, I want to talk with Joanna some more."?

See, you just decided if you wanted to choose me. Or not. It's that simple.

Let me give you another example with someone who came to one of my shows and volunteered to get a makeover on how they taught people about the future her.

When I asked her how she introduced herself she said. "I'm Jennifer, and I'm the Sr Digital Business Operations Manager, Revenue Operations at Company Name."

Do you want to continue the conversation? What have you learned about Jennifer? Would you remember this tomorrow?

What if she said this?

"Imagine a factory, except it's one you can't see or touch. Now you need to make that factory work more efficiently. Bring all the parts, pieces and people together to deliver the product to the customer. This is what I think about, and solve probelms for, at Company Name. Officially they call me the Sr Digital Business Operations Manager, Revenue Operations."

What picture did this paint in your head? Are you curious to learn more about Jennifer now?

More importantly - did Jennifer sound like she was bragging or was she teaching you about how she solves problems?

Such a small shift in language can make such a massive difference.

So here's the big question. What do you want to teach people about the Future You?

career
Like

About the Creator

Joanna Bloor

Joanna Bloor believes that it’s time for us humans to rethink how we take on the modern working world. The what, where, when, and how of work is changing, a shift that technology and business have embraced yet people haven’t.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.