Journal logo

You're a Writer? Read This

When you're feeling uninspired or lacking creativity, I wrote this for you.

By Alivia EvansPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm currently sitting at my table, staring at my empty mug of coffee and wishing it was full, randomly typing this out because I currently feel the need to write yet do not have a distinct idea of what to write about. And yet, I feel that this may possibly be what some other writer out there needs to hear. Sometimes, as a writer, we feel inferior to other writers because we don't always see into their writing process. We can often think, their words flow easier than mine, or, inspiration seems to just radiate from them, and then wonder why it's not happening with us. So, as I'm currently writing this, I've decided to prove to you that not all inspiration comes in huge waves, and it is possible to find it through simple forms; even if it's entirely unexpected, and hopefully you can gain a little encouragement.

How many times have you stared at a piece of paper, pen in hand, and willed the words to roll off your fingertips? Or scolded your keyboard, your fingers hovering over the keys as you beg them to just start typing? And it's not because you've lost your will to write. You are itching to put something out there, not only for other people but for your own sanity, because writing is the greatest release. Yet your mind doesn't always seem to be listening, or the words don't seem to collect properly in your thoughts enough for you to put them on paper. And this isn't your fault, as you're not a walking dictionary or encyclopedia. You haven't experienced everything in life, so it's impossible to be able to write everything. If you're a perfectionist like me, this can sometimes drive you insane on days where the words don't flow. It's not that I want to be the best writer out there, it's only the fact that I can't do exactly what my heart is begging me; which is to write. But most recently, I've found myself living out the solution; quite unintentionally at first.

When I began writing seriously, I was worried my words were not good enough (hell, what writer doesn't?). There were times where I would be so confident in my words, yet when others would ask to read, I'd become immediately self-conscious (or writing-conscious, I suppose). And that's something I believe holds many writers around the neck a lot of the time, and can be incredibly unfortunate if you don't learn how to take control over that fear. Writing for me is like playing an instrument; if it goes un-played for a while, your fingers begin to grow uncomfortable until you are creating music again. Recently, I've realized that when i'm itchy to write, yet don't feel inspired or creative, all I must do is pull out a piece of paper, and write whatever random crap comes to mind. It's not meant to be shared; It doesn't have to be good, it doesn't have to be flavorful or heartwarming or interesting; it's just an execution of my thoughts or feelings (or the non-existence of feelings, if that's where I am at the moment), used as an exercise for writing. Once I've finished, I immediately feel that accomplished release of words. Even though I didn't write something that I believe others can enjoy or get anything out of, even though I'm probably going to trash it within five minutes of writing it, I feel accomplished because I didn't let the drowning, self-depreciating thoughts that I have nothing good to write get to me. And I just wrote. No high expectations. So there's your exercise; there's my simple advice to writers out there who are feeling uninspired or stumped creatively. Pull out a sheet of paper, and write whatever crap you think of, and release. Many times I've done so, and after reading over what I had written, I found that it held something valuable and I ended up turning it into a piece of poetry, or a story. There's no right or wrong way to create, and sometimes you need to allow yourself to do it unintentionally because at times those can be the most influential and growing experiences. Such as me writing this post, right now. Being completely honest, when I hit the "Create Story" button, I had no idea what I wanted to write, and I felt very uninspired. So I told myself, just start typing, and if it ends up being important, then you'll feel accomplished, and you'll post it.

Media Handles

If you're in the mood to read some poetry and prose, head over to my Instagram, @themooncriedher

advice
Like

About the Creator

Alivia Evans

Writing Blogger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.