Journal logo

You Must Prioritize Your Time

Do you even value and appreciate every moment? What society has caused…

By Sharing RandomlyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
You Must Prioritize Your Time
Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

Every day passes by and I feel beaten. I still can’t find a proper job. How can I meet social standards like this?

This question is not only on my mind. Unfortunately, like so many other people, we have been laid off because of the current global situation. I had a wonderful job because I was learning so so much. I learned how to interact with third parties, to lead a full team on two separate occasions (even though I was still a trainee), I appreciated my peers and so much more.

The work environment could still have a lot of improvements but overall, it was more than a decent job. I was thrilled. Just imagine, I was already having one-to-one meetings with international directors all by myself. I thought I was dreaming.

But I was fired in the end. A total bummer. They told me I was the “cheapest” one to fire. I understood. It was heartbreaking but I was also thankful for all of the opportunities.

By Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

But now that I have been cut off, I can’t find a proper job. I’ve had a few temporary jobs here and there but nothing stable.

Instead of only me being the one to motivate myself to find a better job, I felt the main one was society itself, loads of pressure flew in. Directly or indirectly I was questioned:

  • What are you doing now?
  • Have you already found a proper job?
  • What have you’ve been doing since you got fired?
  • Are you still on vacation?

And the most used comment is: Oh, so you still can’t find a job.

So yes, I’m stressed out. I keep trying to find a better option but I definitely dislike these types of conversations. It gets really awkward for me. For the first days, weeks, and even months now; I understood others and their comments but I still can’t find anything, it’s not like I WANT to be jobless. What I feel useless by now are these types of comments. Some may think that these people are not thoughtful and well, you’re right.

By Christian Erfurt on Unsplash

Whenever someone else starts to talk about this subject, I just say that it's stressing me so they mostly change the topic but there are others who keep going at it.

Social perceptions of somebody who “made it” is quite vague but powerful on people. It can be really negative on one's mental health. You have to have a perfect job, with a perfect family. I have neither. But why does society looks down on me because of it!?!?!

I’m only 26, yes many people were “successful” way before that age but I think everything has its time. I will always do my best and also do what I like. I had already forgotten about this important aspect, the little pleasures about living.

I can have hobbies, I can dedicate time to enjoy and treat myself. I can finally prioritize my self-being. And you should too. If you have a nine to five job, excellent, but you should also prioritize and balance your time.

Professional and personal activities are so different. Get to know yourself. You will soon have better concentration for all of your tasks, you will have more energy and most importantly, you will enjoy life.

Thank you for reading a little bit about my thoughts and reflections! I hope you liked this piece and that it inspires you to live your days in the present and to appreciate them. And if you’re like me, don't stress it out like I have, enjoy these times, and turn them into quality moments.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sharing Randomly

Just a normal woman with lots to share. I write about art, mental health, entrepreneurship, and lots more.

Support me: https://ko-fi.com/sharingrandomly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.