Journal logo

Would you read this?

Perspective

By WinstonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I have joined vocal to get myself out there. I want to improve in my writing skill as well as earn the much needed $$$. But in all honesty would anyone really read this? is a question to everyone. Not just to simply answer it with a yes or no. Or even answer it with a long winded essay and then just conclude with a yes or no by the end of their conclusion.

What I want to write may not be what others would like to read. So why write it if no one sees it? Well perhaps it's for self achievement, like some form of personal blog or a trashy opinion piece. And to the ones reading those must either have a lot of time on their hands or simply do not know how to use their newly found time. Many of us have either gained time or lost an activity that used to consume our time. I for one have lost a certain activity, what is it you ask? Well it's my "used to be" weekly board game night with friends and to meet new people. But with the current predicament of the world many entertainment outlets have been removed.

But it's not all bad, I have found new things to do with my newly discovered time. Playing games online was never accessible to me due to my area, being in the past and not having up to date internet access. But only recently have we gained this thing called internet speed above the kilobyte speeds or dial-up speed. Imagine, in the year 2016 and having dial-up speeds. It was one of the realities my family had to live with. Meanwhile the rest of Australia had slowly caught up to the world's standard.

That aside, would anyone read my story? It's called Hexatron Tales. It's the first book I ever wrote and sure it's out on kindle now but as a novice novelist I can't I would read it if I was on the other side of the line. I'm not saying the story is bad, because I quite like the story I wrote. I had fun writing it but perhaps I was too optimistic about others wanting to read it. In truth I wanted to write and publish that book for my own reasons, selfish reasons that did not involve money of course. Believe it or not, but I wrote the story to see if I could write it. Like a form of lasting achievement, something that did not involve luck, just pure determination and desire. I had no care if it made money or not. I just wanted to write it. But in reality, getting it published was a different beast. It involved more things that I had no knowledge of nor did I understand what was needed. Yes, it's naive but hey I'm not exactly a smart guy. Just someone who can BS when the time was right.

So if you have read this, would you read another?

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.