Journal logo

Working In Staffing Helps Me Help Others, And It's One Of The Best Feelings In The World

While writing is my main love, I never imagined how rewarding I would find my career in Talent Acquisition.

By Sara ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

A little background about me and my dreams: I wish to write full-time and, through my writings, help destigmatize mental illnesses. This dream is very near and dear to my heart, and something that I am incredibly passionate about. It is also important to note that one of my constant goals and motivators in life is to help people. I personally know what it's like to struggle through the darker moments in life, and how every aspect of our lives contributes to our overall mental health. So, I really want to help others in any way I can. I figure everyone could use a little extra kindness in their lives.

While my dream is to write full time, I understand that I am not yet at that point in my life, so I need a source of income for the now that isn't dependent on writing. Through trial and error, I've found that contract roles work best for me and my various energy levels (I'm a sleepy person by nature), and that working in staffing helps simultaneously satisfy my need for an income and to help others.

When working a contract role, I can focus entirely on work, and during months in between assignments, I focus on writing and self-care. But, I never realized just how much I would come to love staffing.

Working in staffing means that I work with all parts of the job search process: the great, the good, the bad, and the ugly.

If you think about it, most people spend about half of their time at work (I use the term 'at' loosely here due to remote work possibilities), so work can be like a second home. Some people even spend the majority of their time at work, which technically then makes work their first home.

Helping a candidate with their job search not only helps them find a more fulfilling role, but can sometimes even make their entire life better.

Sure, it can be emotionally exhausting to go through the job searching process constantly with so many different people, but at the end of it all, it really is so rewarding to help people take that next step towards a better life and their dreams.

It may seem like a bit of a romanticized view, but, it's true. There have been times when I've helped candidates leave terrible working situations and find a better role where they love their coworkers, receive better pay, and have an overall better work-life balance. During the first phone call, I'd pick up notes of stress and discomfort from the candidate, but, by the time they are placed in a new role, their entire presence becomes more relaxed. You can almost visibly see the metaphorical weight being lifted off of their shoulders.

Working in staffing allows me to help improve people's lives in multiple ways, restore their self-confidence, and be that extra boost of support we all sometimes need.

I truly believe that all good deeds have a ripple effect, like stones being dropped in a lake, and I also believe that everyone is someone's someone. So, for example, by helping someone find a better job with a higher salary and increased work-life balance, I can also be helping them to provide a better life for their loved ones AND spend more quality time with friends and family.

Writing is my long-term dream, and I make strides towards making it a full-time profession every day. But, in the meantime, I am so thankful for my career in talent acquisition, and for all of the people it's allowed me to help. Truly, I am forever grateful.

career
2

About the Creator

Sara Thomas

Mixed, optimistic, and depressed MA-based zillennial just out here trying to make you feel things.

We're all a little messed up, and that's okay. Let's be human together<3

UCLA '18 . Art History . Mythology

Book in Progress: Mess of a Human

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.