Journal logo

Work Work Work

Rihanna’s song

By _Undiscovered_Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
feel through memes

We all want that shmoney.

We all want what we wish we didn’t have to work for, when in reality any type of work should be for everyone.

The fambam and I have a very eventful lifestyle. Half of us work and half of us don’t. Some by choice some not. I work a beyond full time job (as to what it feels like sometimes) and I 99.9% enjoy myself with the choices I choose. I have my little family of five and only I work to provide. I selfishly made my (13 year relationship) partner a stay at home daddy for our baby girl(6 months as of the 25th). I make enough to support my family and depending on my work choices I can make more then enough to support them depending on how much time I want to put in. My work effort is always 99% the other 1% is for my sanity.

I am a General Manager for one of the busy stores in my area of my job choice (I don’t think I can mention, don’t want to get sued), and I gotta say the most difficult part of managing (and I pray others can relate) is handling my employees. As much as everyone should be on the same page they are not all the same, at all. We are all people with different values, aspects of life, morals, etc. We are all raised to each their own and get judged because I like black and they like glitter.

Some of the workers I have won’t stay a second pass their time and honestly I truly understand, but PLEASE when you do leave right on time (And I still need you, badly) do NOT ask why you only received this much hours for that amount of days.

Work ethics are not pointed out in public because for one people can only mention bad and feel like they’ve accomplished something. When I compliment someone (a new worker or someone with amazing colored hair) I get a set of reactions “awwww thanks Yo(my name)! But you don’t have to mention it” Or the “well duh” look or the “uhhhhhh thanks?” Reply. All to each their own, like I said.

Then I also have those worker who are so extraordinary at their job I can’t even tell if they have been there for an amount of time that not even I would consider doing at times, and what I mean by that is sometimes my store gets so busy (I’m a night manager) I’ll walk in and think okay all morning peeps gone got my night crew “busting” it out. Every single order made to perfection and given to our customers. Then when the store comes to a slow part I got that one worker coming up and saying “Hey, I’ve been here since 10am (it’s currently 10pm) can I bring my tags in? (Basically asking to go home)”. In ONE second time 15 thoughts shoot through my head.

“ How did you survive that long? Why didn’t I look at the schedule? Why are working at 10am? That’s not your availability! Who called you? Why wasn’t his communicated??” Then my surprised reply “OMG YES GO HOME! omg I’m sorry you we’re here for that long but my gosh I am so happy you were” “no problem yo(my name here)! I made some money today and I wanted to help ”

But at the same time I’m sending people home because they just “HAVE” to leave.........

I have come across MANY types of management styles. Some VERY strict, some understanding and some who just straight up won’t deal with the BS and your gone the next second. It really all depends on the person.

I have a Big heart and it can sometime be used against me, which then I become “mean or strict” and it turns to mixed signals/emotions.

career
Like

About the Creator

_Undiscovered_

I am a very positive, polite, non judgement, down to earth, obnoxious, happy person.

And that’s how my stories should sound.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.