Journal logo

Work vs. Happiness?

To pursue happiness or just get by in life? That is the question...

By Sam's BabblePublished 6 years ago β€’ 2 min read
Like

I don't know if it's just me, but in my opinion work and happiness just do not seem to go together anymore!

The struggle of working at a job you hate but simply cannot afford to leave is REAL!!

That constant battle of having to choose between staying forever miserable at a well/decently-paid job, or walking away to do something that you might actually enjoy (but may result in you being homeless) is excruciating! It's like you're alive, but you're not actually living... Just walking around brain dead, letting life pass you by and hoping tomorrow might be slightly less pathetic than today. And then your day comes to an end, or your shift is over, and you can finally breathe!

All those who actually love their jobs... you have no idea how incredibly lucky you are! Finding a job that you enjoy AND pays the bills is extremely rare nowadays. People simply cannot afford to quit their soul-crushing jobs to pursue their dreams and happiness, and I find that deeply saddening.

I've been working at at my current place for over three years now... My intention was to stay for a year just to gain some experience (it was my first ever job) and meanwhile figure out what I actually wanted to do with my life..

Alas! That was obviously not the case -_-. If anything, I'm actually more confused than ever about what I want to do! It's almost as if years of mind-numbingly boring work has destroyed any hopes and dreams I may have had and I am now stuck on auto pilot for the rest of my life... Now, if somebody asks why I haven't left this life-sucking job, my answer is "Because I like having a roof over my head and I want to keep it that way."

But it's not just that... I know that the longer I leave it, the older I get and my options become limited.

No pressure then!

I admit... I am a romantic. I love the idea of being free, following your heart, and living your dreams. But in reality, life doesn't always work out like that. So all we can really do is take each day as it comes, and try not to breakdown and cry ourselves to sleep every night.

So in an attempt to make life at work ever so slightly less agonizing, here's a few tips:

  1. Every time you complete a task, treat yourself to a small yummy bite or snack. It's good motivation, and an excuse to munch.
  2. LUNCH! Make sure you have a delicious lunch prepared every day. One that not only gives you a good midday boost, but something that you can look forward to so mornings don't drag on forever.
  3. Take well-deserved breaks. Even if it's just a breath of fresh air, or a quick walk about, you need to let your mind relax every so often. Distracting yourself from your work for a few minutes throughout the day can make you feel less overwhelmed.
  4. If you're lucky enough to have decent fellow employees, try and make some "work friends." These are people that you only ever see or communicate with at work (and nowhere else), but having a good working relationship with colleagues can help get you through your day. (Then you can wallow in oceans of self-pity together.)

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sam's Babble

Just a human floating on by through life πŸ˜‰

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.