Journal logo

Why Would I Join Inktober?

The Value of Inktober for Artists

By 'Toto' (Aleksina Teto)Published 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Matthew Henry from Burst

Just two days now until it happens.

Excited? Yes.Extremely anxious? Yes

It's Inktober time again!

For two years now I've participated in Inktober, I even wrote a post about it last year on whether it is something worth joining or not.

If you haven't heard about it, it's an art challenge with prompts by Jake Parker that you can follow for all 31 days of October for daily ink drawings. For full transparency, the first two years I tried this challenge, and the first year I did it successfully, I did not use the prompts. Though, I did last year.

The Value of Inktober

Having done it two years in a row with full intention of doing it this year, I am bound to support it. Yes, I definitely do, though it is absolutely not for everyone, and might need to be modified to fit different people's needs.

Why I think it's worth joining:

1. Community

Inktober is a time of year for artists to bond over an event. As I find different people's take on a theme, or their own personal theme, I feel pushed to follow other artists and comment. There's such a camaraderie during the month. And plus, if you love Halloween, it's a great time to bond over that and maybe even make some new art friends. Even just with my sister who also does Inktober, I love bonding with her over it, whether through lamenting or brainstorming, or maybe even just being proud of the other getting through it with you. Honestly, I think it's worth participating in it, even just once for that alone (even if you have to adjust the criteria for your life).

Looking around, some people pre-do their sketches. Others just do one per week... you are allowed to adjust it, especially if it's your first year. But there is something to be said about the full challenge of a daily ink drawing from start to finish, whether the challenge is doing ink, doing it faster than usual, or just keeping it up for 31 days. Honestly, it's worth a try for any artist (of any level).

2. Practice

Looking at my Inktobers from two years ago and last year... Okay last year's might actually suck. But I still felt like it really gave me confidence in ink and made me get back into the groove of art. For whatever reason, I find between summer and the beginning of fall, I tend to let my consistency of drawing slip, and Inktober is great for giving me fuel to get back at it. And honestly (though kudos to you if you did it in digital too), it is a great way to practice traditional ink. And I definitely tend to splurge a little on pens and inks to play with for Inktober, and I love that it inspires me to try different inks. For instance, last year I tried:

  • Pentel Brush Pen - Grey, and one filled with diluted black acrylic ink
  • the hard and soft tombow calligraphy pens
  • the Copic Multiliner (.25)

And my goodness, I have grown to love those Tombows. I'm still a little mixed with the other two, but those Tombows are my pride and joy (if only I didn't run them dry so quickly).

This year, I got myself some Payne's Grey ink to try. Reasoning? I have been doing a lot more watercolour and digital, and with that, I've been slowly getting away from harsh black outlines. Specifically with watercolour, I like to use Payne's Grey from HWC (Holbein). As someone who used to be obsessively into the brightest version of any colour and black, I'm kinda surprised that Payne's Grey has become my new favourite colour. But, here we are. Give me Payne's Grey and a nice teal from a viridian green mix, and I am in love. But I digress. Let's carry on.

3. Marketing

It is worth being part of the #inktober and #inktober2018 tags to help people find you during the month. As much as sometimes as an artist it can be easy to scoff at marketing, it does help. Sure it might not get jobs flooding to you, but gathering a following and having your work out there can help when trying to reach out for illustration jobs. In this day and age, a following can really help you.

4. Getting Out of Your Comfort Zone

I am a lover of comfort zones... until I'm not. Inktober is a great way to shake up what you are drawing. I especially loved the year I did yokai. There was something about researching these creatures I had never heard of that fueled me up for experimentation. And maybe ink is a medium you shy away from—I know I did for a long time. As an artist, though it is great to find a niche, it's also great to expand your skillset, or at least adventure out to see what might be your new love. Last year, Inktober was great for forcing me to not take my art so seriously. I had to just create. I couldn't let myself overthink it, which can be refreshing and really lets the weak points show... which is great for learning what you need to practice.

Conclusion

Maybe Inktober might be a little much for you right now, but maybe it isn't. For me, it definitely has value. It is a time of year I look forward to (and dread). If you decide to participate, give me a shout on Instagram @aleksinateto and I'd love to cheer you on. If you don't, think about taking a moment to appreciate the work of those who are. I am currently panicking, though I know I'll love it and feel a lot of pride once I start.

Cheers,

Toto

art
Like

About the Creator

'Toto' (Aleksina Teto)

A Canadian designer, writer, typographer, and artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.