Journal logo

Why I Like To Write For Medium?

Inside peak to write for Medium.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
Why I Like To Write For Medium?
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

Writing is what I love to do. Writing is what I want to do for the rest of my life. If it is writing articles here on Vocal, if it articles on HubPages, or articles on Medium. And also writing my first book through Wattpad.

I just want to tell you how deeply in love I am writing on Medium.

The last year I am writing on Medium every day. I love the site and the stories people are writing on this platform. I write about everything I love to write about. There are so many topics I love to write about, there are so many topics I have experience in, and there are so many things I love to do in my life and I want to tell you about.

Sometimes it is difficult to choose between the topics that I decided to have no niche writing about. But every time I get it managed to write about a topic.

Everyone I talk to someone, my children playing together or doing something I have concerned about, people are doing bad towards me or someone else, my children will be bullied, then there are certainly topics to write about.

Even in these rural times as racism, equality and injustice are the hot topics to write about.

There are also great poems on Medium. I wrote some of myself too. The poem Nothing is about, well guess what, nothing of course. On June 18, there was a small Thunderstorm, so I wrote a poem about it.

I also wrote stupid poems that makes no sense at all. 'Grow' for example, or 'You'. 'This Is It' was also a stupid poem I wrote. Somehow, I love writing stupid poems. Because it is nonsense.

Do you know that writing nonsense is good sometimes?

Hey, what do you think of 50-word stories? They are quite challenging, but they are so fun to write. I started with 'His Pen' and the last one I wrote is 'The Hole'. I definitely want to write more 50-word stories.

There is much more on Medium.

Medium Partner Program

When you enter the Medium Partner Program, or MPP as it called by insiders, you will get paid for your stories, just like here on Vocal. The more you write, when you write, or how often you write doesn't really matter. I write every day. I try to write at least one piece a day. Even in the weekends.

If you decide to enroll this Medium Partner Program, you have the feature to read unlimited stories. If you are not enrolled, you have three stories per months to read. I thought that is too minimum for me.

In October 2019 I enrolled and to my surprise, I got more readers, more followers, and I got more highlights. My earnings were increasing, although, I prefer not to brag about my earnings.

Paid per reading time

Writing on Medium is so fun. And more fun when your writing is rewarded by being paid. Your stories will be paid by how the average reading time of your reader is per story.

Unfortunately, it is not; the longer the story, the more you get paid for that story. At least, that is not what I have seen yet. It is worth trying, though.

Follow other people

Every day I follow other people, you also get followers back when you follow others. I love to follow others. I know that they have something valuable to say. The more you follow, the more people follow you, and the more your profile will appear on other people's feed.

If your profile appear on other people's feed, your stories will be seen more and more. When your stories are read and seen the more you get paid.

Highlight stories you like

Highlighting your favorite stories from writers you love the most is incredible. When you highlight stories, your stories will be seen by your followers. The more you highlight, the more your stories and your name will appear in the feed of your followers.

If you highlight stories someone else highlighted already, he or she gets notified when you highlighted too. These people will go to your profile, and when you have any luck, you got highlights from them too.

Comment on your favorite stories

Another great thing is commenting. If you love a story, say it to the writer. They love it when you comment on their stories you like. They appreciate it very much. I do at least.

Comment on stories, preferably positive. I had terrible comments. You may criticize, but be positive, please.

Publish in other publications

One of the best things I do is publishing my stories in other peoples publications. You can add your own publications too.

And one other thing: Medium has its own publication. It is hard to get in those, but it is worth trying. You get more exposure then.

career
3

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.