Journal logo

Why Have More Than One Favorite Color?

A favorite shade for every color of the rainbow

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like
Why Have More Than One Favorite Color?
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Colors make our world more brighter and more exciting! Even the neutrals - the browns and the greys. There are a plethora of shades of every color out there from mint green to brick red from dandelion yellow to sky blue. There's even colors that exist in our world that our vision just can't pick up. In that regard, how can one possibly choose just one favorite color?

What's your favorite color? Sounds like a simple question. Sometimes, it's not so easy to choose. It's hard for me to pick just one favorite color. From red to violet, I have a favorite shade in particular for every color of the rainbow. Even for my least favorite colors.

Candy Apple Red

This is a shade of red most commonly used as a shade of paint on those old classic automobiles you might see at a car show. It is, of course, named from the color of the glazed coating found on candied apples. I like even just the sound of the name. Candy apple red. It has a pleasant ring to it. It's a more mellow yet pleasant looking shade of red.

Tangerine Orange

This shade of orange is very bright and refreshing and reminds me of a juicy ripe citrus. Tangerine orange is one of the colors of warm bright summer days. The vibrant orange color brings thoughts of summer sunshine and feelings of carefree joy as one might experience lounging by the pool.

Golden Yellow

By Michael Barrick on Unsplash

The color of golden rods and sunshine! What a bright and lively color! While I honestly like all colors in some way, I would have to put yellow on the bottom of the list if I were ranking colors from top favorite to least favorite. With that said, I most definitely have a favorite shade of yellow - golden yellow. It is a warm and vivid color. It reminds me of autumn and the warm lingering days of Indian summer.

Lime Green

This is a color I’ve always liked. Lime green is such a bright electrifying color sure to capture your immediate attention. Sometimes, the color as bright as it is, can be a bit too much for some people. However, when not over done, I see it as a vibrant and refreshing color just like tangerine orange is. It's a very energizing and exciting color.

Electric Blue

Here is another bright electrifying color that captures my attention. Electric blue summons up feelings of lively excitement. It's one such color that conveys so much energy. If you like aqua, turquoise blues or even cyan, you might like electric blue too. It also makes an ideal background color. I would love to have a lava lamp or some kind of light in this color.

Dark Purple

By Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Indigo comes after blue. However, I am going to skip this indigo because it looks so similar to purple. Instead, I am going to categorize my favorite shade of purple into both indigo and violet as they are somewhat similar colors.

The color of galaxies and royalty - purple, or dark purple specifically, is by far, my top favorite color. It always has been. It makes me smile and gives me confidence. Strongly attracted by the color, I admit, I have chosen a few things solely based on the color alone. Wearing dark purple also gives me a huge and at times much needed confidence boost. Could it be because it is a color related to royalty?

Looking back on this list, I’ve noticed that I tend to favor colors that are more vibrant — colors that capture your immediate attention. Every color, even my least favorites, have a shade that I love.

list
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.