Journal logo

When I was lost

Meeting a stranger

By Ariba AbbasPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

My heart started to rush when I realized I was lost. I had always been a curious tourist, eager to see every corner of the city, but now I was paying for my indifference.

One afternoon, while visiting a friend in New York City, I made the choice to set off on my own. I took a leisurely stroll around the busy neighborhoods, taking in the huge skyscrapers and the masses of people going about their daily lives. But as evening fell and the streets were completely dark, I realized I had no idea where I was.

I looked around for recognizable landmarks or any other recognizable features, but everything appeared foreign and strange.I made an effort to recall the path I had followed, the names of the streets, and the turns I had taken, but it appeared that my memory had deserted me.

Every stride I took increased my anxiousness as the seconds passed. I had never felt so exposed and alone, and the gravity of my predicament started to set in. Even worse, my phone was unable to be found because it had recently died.

The city towered above me, making me feel confined and helpless like a prisoner inside my own body. I felt lost and confined in a circumstance from which there was nowhere to escape.

I happened into a tiny park hidden on a side street as I was walking.I walked down one of its walks after entering. The only other person in the park was a figure sitting on a bench and listening to music in the distance while wearing headphones.

I walked up to the guy and timidly requested instructions from him.

He took off his headphones and grinned as he turned to face me. “Sure,” he replied. Where must you go, exactly?

He swiftly got out his phone to show me the route when I gave him the name of my friend’s street. He guided me through each step, pointing out important landmarks and alerting me to any potentially dangerous turns.

As we traveled, he began talking to me about his own experiences getting lost in the city. It felt like a weight had been lifted off my shoulders because he was so kind and gentle and seemed to genuinely care about my safety. I had the impression that I had found a guardian angel in this large, hectic metropolis.

When we finally arrived at my friend’s street, I sincerely thanked him. He grinned and expressed his wish for my enjoyment in the city.

I was aware as I left that I would never forget the generosity and compassion of this stranger. He had given me hope and direction at a time when I felt completely lost and alone.

I finally made it to my friend’s flat, grateful and relieved. But long after my trip to New York City was over, I couldn’t shake the recollection of that gracious stranger. It served as a reminder that even in the most difficult and perplexing circumstances, there are always kind people willing to guide you in the right direction. Exactly as he did. He has my sincere gratitude and I hope to see him again. Even if they don’t know you, it’s difficult to locate people who truly value you. He gives me inspiration and direction for every step. As soon as I saw my friend, I told her everything that had happened, including how I got lost and how the stranger had saved the day. It’s surprising that she is also affected by it. But putting everything else aside, I had a great time and will never forget this amazing journey.When I was lost, I had a great journey and met a stranger.

travelhumanityfact or fictionbook review
Like

About the Creator

Ariba Abbas

a variety of topics, including literature, health, love, sex, and intriguing tales.My passion is for writing.Every tale I produce inspires me to produce more.I hope my writing is enjoyable for you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.