Journal logo

What you get for choosing a career in the Arts.

I've never been more rejected by anyone in life than I have by my own career.

By Sangeetha GowdaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've never been more rejected by anyone in life than I have by my own career.

Why did I choose a career in the arts? Why did you? I think we've all heard the general 'Arts jobs aren't real jobs' or 'You're going to be broke for a very long time', 'Maybe you should pick something more... stable?'.

But no, I decided to ignore the comments and concerns and go with my gut, my passion, my one true love - to be an Actor.

My grandmother seemed horrified that I'd ditched studying English Literature after high school to study the craft of Acting. I mean, I'd graduated with pretty high marks in different areas, I actually had a brain so how could I waste that? She seemed much more relieved when I explained it was basically a 'gap year' and I could always study something more intelligible "the next year".

But sorry grandma, here I am five years later and I'm still chasing a dream that hasn't put me on Netflix yet.

The longer you do this and the more people you meet, the quicker you grow accustomed to hearing - Wow! Have I seen you in anything? Are you on Tv?? What have you been in?! Because if you can't answer any of those questions, you can't call yourself an Actor right? You seem to have to be permanently aspiring until you break out. And when an Actor finally does make that big break into the industry, their years of study, experience, auditions and breakdowns seems suddenly dismissed to be announced as a 'newcomer' who 'hasn't been in anything'.

Well I'm here to tell you that while I've completed an Advanced Diploma in Acting, performed in stage plays out of college, had parts in commercials and promo videos, done many short films, lead two web series & finally have just finished leading a 15min festival film that gained me a Best Actress Win at an Independant Film Festival - I am still getting rejections from auditions and agencies at present, still having to work a part time job I don't love and am yet to be in a major tv series or film.

A lot of people think Acting is all glamour, and I can't help but to laugh (probably more out of desperation and being emotionally drained) when I hear that. While some people can grasp an Acting role due to the amount of followers they have on Instagram, for the majority of us it takes a lot of time, auditions, rejections and persistence before attaining that one role that launches you. It's tiring, it's messy, it's risking a side income that's currently paying the bills because you don't want to miss that audition you were given tomorrow but only found out about today.

Ultimately however, I believe all of the years spent building your resume, your skills, learning how to take rejection after rejection - it all prepares you and goes towards that one role. So many Actors who are up there now, say how it's a matter of persistence over talent. To keep going, keep trying, keep believing, because it matters to you as much as it does.

If I was to quit today and take up a career that had nothing to do with the Arts, while it might feel more stable, I would not be happy. Period. I was born to love the Arts and that doesn't seem to ever be going away, as hard as things may get. Mental Health is Wealth, and you should always do what makes you happy, no matter what anyone else says.

We'll see where we go from here but for now I shall continue auditioning and putting myself out there to gain representation. Potential rejection? Come at me.

career
Like

About the Creator

Sangeetha Gowda

Actor | Writer | Director | Mixed Race Aussie 🇦🇺

.

Writing away my emotional breakdowns and creating thought provoking films that showcase diversity, as I work towards catching a break in my Acting career.

.

#mentalhealth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.