Journal logo

What would you

What would you

By SHEILA ZEPEDAPublished 12 months ago 13 min read
Like

'Good! Judt smiled and said, "What would you like to eat? I'll get it for you without going out to buy it or cooking it."

"Son, where have you got anything to eat?"

"There! There's all kinds of food in this saddlebag."

"Then help yourself to something to eat."

"You are right. Poor people want anything, but rich people want something good. I'm a rich man now, so tell me what you want."

"Give me a piece of hot bread and a piece of dry cheese."

"Bread and cheese do not fit you, Mother."

"You know what I am, measure my identity and give me something to eat."

"Mom, your status should be braised meat, braised chicken, fried rice with chili. Besides, you are also suitable for eating such valuable foods as whole lamb wrapped rice, melon wrapped rice, chicken wrapped rice, rib embedded rice, shredded sugar and honey, sugar, preserved fruit, almond cake."

Thinking her son was making fun of her, she said, "Oh! What's the matter with you? I wouldn't dare dream such a dream."

'Do you think I'm mad?

"Who can afford all this food you've given me? Who has that skill?"

"I will bring you the food at once, I swear."

"But why didn't I see it?"

"Bring me the saddlebag."

She took out her saddlebag and reached for it. It was empty. Nothing. Judt took it, reached out and took out all kinds of dishes. One by one, he took out all kinds of famous dishes, laid them out, and invited his mother to eat and drink. His mother looked at the food and was amazed. She said, "My son! This saddlebag is wonderful. It turns out so many delicious things in a moment. I ask you, where do these hot dishes come from?"

"I tell you, Mother, that this saddlebag was given to me by that Moroccan, and it has been enchanted, and there is a servant in it, and what people want to eat, just name him and say to him: 'Give me something, O servant of the saddlebag. 'It's going to happen."

"Can I reach in and ask him for it?"

"Fine! Hold out your hand."

She reached in tentatively and said, "Saddlebag servant! Give me a plate of rib with rice, please." As soon as she said this, she took out a plate of rib and rice from her bag.

Then Judt asked for bread and other food, and mother and son went on eating and drinking. Judt said, "Mother, according to the rules, the empty plate must be put in the bag after eating. If there is any food left, you can put it in another vessel. Keep the saddlebag, keep it a secret, and take whatever you want out of it, whether I am at home or not. Besides you, you can eat and drink for your brothers, and take some food for the poor."

Mother and son eat and talk.

Just then, Judt's two older brothers burst in. A little boy in the alley said to them, "Your brother is coming home, gorgeously dressed, riding on a mule, and with his servant." They were all surprised and a little guilty. One of them said, "Oh no!

I hope we have not offended mother. She will tell her brother of our ill-treatment. What a shame to go before him!" Another said, "Mothers are loving. Even though she told her brother, he loved us just the same. We apologize to him, and he will forgive us." So the two walked home together.

When Judt saw his brothers, he got up and greeted them warmly, saying, "Come on! Come on! Share some."

They were so hungry and tired that they sat down and made a hearty meal. After dinner, Judt said, "Please, brothers, take out this leftover food and give it to the poor people."

"Don't send it, brother. Save it for our supper."

"I'm sure you'll have more to eat for supper."

They obeyed him, carried the rest of the meal out, and, as they walked along the street, said to every poor person they met, "Take it." After giving the food, they took the empty plates home. Judt asked his mother to store the plates in a saddle bag.

Judt was in trouble

That evening Judt went into the house, took forty plates out of his saddle-bag, went back into the living room, sat down with his brother, and said to his mother, "Mother, give us supper." When his mother came in and saw that the food had been taken out, she spread the tablecloth and laid out the dishes one by one, making a rich feast. Mother and son sat down to eat and drink. After dinner, Judt said to his brother, "Give these leftovers to the poor." They did so, and took out the food and gave it to the poor.

When he got home, Judt took out the sweets again. After eating, he said, "Give the rest to your neighbors."

The next day they ate and drank as well. From then on they ate and drank as much as they could and lived very rich.

After ten days of this, his brothers thought it strange. The eldest Sal and the second Moyo got together and came up with a plan. While Judt was away, they made a sneaky appointment to see their mother and said, "Mother, we are hungry."

"Wait a minute, I'll get you something to eat." She went into the room, took food from her saddle-bag, and gave it to them to eat and drink.

"Mother, why do you eat hot food when you have no fire to cook?"

"Ah! It was taken out of the saddlebag."

"Saddlebag? What was that?"

"The saddlebags were enchanted, they had charms..." She told her two sons the truth, and said:

'You must keep it a secret!

"Yes. But I wish Mother would tell us how you get your food."

She told her sons everything.

They did the same and got food. All this was hidden from Judt. When they realized the purpose of the saddlebag, they were ambitious and wanted to take the saddlebag. Sall said to Moyo, "Brother, when will it end that we can't stand up to the third brother and live on his handouts? Why don't we find a way to get the saddlebags?"

"What's the way to get it?"

"Let's sell my brother to the head of the Sussex."

"How can I trick him?"

"I'll go with you to SUSIE's, and ask the boss to bring two of his men to our house for dinner. As far as my brother is concerned, I will persuade him. You will see me to-night."

Sall and Moyo conspire to betray Jute. They invite the head of the Nassus district to his house and say to him, "Agha Sahib! We have come especially to see you on account of something to please you."

"Oh? What's the matter?" The leader welcomed it.

"We are brothers, and we have a wicked and useless brother besides. When my father died, he left us a fortune, which he divided into three parts. He took the other part and spent it on food, drink, whoring, gambling, and drinking. We were forced to fight him in court, which cost a lot of money and left us poor. That's it. He won't leave us alone, so we're going to sell him. Please let his lordship buy him."

"If you try to trick him into coming here, I'll soon send him to hard work."

"That won't do. You had better come to my house tonight with two men, and when he is asleep, we will help you, and five of us will set about catching him, and gag him with wood, and take him away in the dark, and then do with him what you will."

"I see. Let's do it. How about forty gold pieces?"

"Sell! You bring your men tonight, and we'll meet you at the head of the lane."

"All right, you go back."

When Sall and Moyo got home, they talked to Jut for a while, and then Sall walked up to Jut and kissed his hand. Judt wondered. "What's the matter with you, brother?" he asked.

"Brother, I am in a dilemma. Well, I have a good friend who often invites me to dinner when you are not at home. Today I went to visit him and he invited me to dinner again. I said, 'No, I have to be with my brother. 'He said,' Let your brother come too. 'I said,' He won't come, so you and your brother come to dinner. 'I made a casual remark, but he readily agreed and promised to bring his brother to dinner tonight. I was afraid you wouldn't want to see them, so I was wondering if I could invite them to dinner in your name? If it is inconvenient, I shall have to go to my neighbour's and entertain him."

"Why go to the neighbours? Is our room too narrow for them? Do we have nothing to give them? You don't have to talk to me about this. Our family has improved, and there is plenty of food for our guests. When anyone comes to my house and I am not there, ask your mother for food, and she will give it to you. Well, you go and ask them. Good luck will come to our house with the guests."

Sall thanked him profusely, kissed Judt, and went out to wait until the sun went down. Sure enough, the leader and others came as promised.

Sall hurried them into the house. Judt greeted his guests kindly, asked them to sit down and chatted with them. Judt, not knowing the comers were unkind, received them kindly and asked his mother to prepare dinner. Judt took forty plates of delicacies from his saddle-bag and made a feast for them. They don't know who it is, but they think it's Sall.

After dinner, we talked for a while. In the evening, Judt took out the dessert and ate it until the dead of night before going to bed.

When Judt fell asleep, the group crept into action. When Judt woke from his dream, his mouth was stuffed and his body was firmly bound. Under cover of darkness, they drove him to the area of Sussex.

From then on, he began to live like a prisoner.

Sall and Moyo were imprisoned

Early the next morning, Sall and Moyo went to see their mother and asked her, "Mom, is my brother still sleeping?"

"Go and wake him."

"Where does he sleep?"

"With the guests."

"Perhaps he went off with the guest before we got up. Mom, brother loved Morocco, loved the treasure, bonded with the Moroccans. They sent him with them to Morocco to dig for treasure."

"Is he seeing the Moroccans again?"

"Didn't they eat here last night?"

"Perhaps he went with them, inshallah! He's a lucky man. He'll get a lot out of it." "My mother cried bitterly as she spoke, and felt emptiness again.

'Damnable old woman! Brother Sall shouted, "Why do you love Judt so much? When we went out, when we came back, you didn't respond. Are we not your sons, when Judt is gone and you are so sad?"

"Of course you are my sons too, but you are not filial. Since your father died, you've done nothing good.

Judt, on the other hand, did a lot of good. His filial piety pleased me, and of course I cared for him and worried more about him. Don't you also enjoy his blessing?"

When Sall and Moyo heard their mother's words, they became angry. They swore at her and beat her. Then they rushed into the house and found two saddlebags, saying, "This is Father's property."

"No, by Allah, Jute brought it back from Morocco."

"What nonsense! Of course it's father's, and we should share it."

They divided up the gold and the jewels in the saddlebag, but they quarrelled over the enchanted saddlebag. Sall said, "I have it." Moyo said, "No." They were quarrelling, but the mother persuaded them: "My children, you have already divided the saddlebags of gold and silver. The rest is not worth two parts and is not worth much. I think you'd better give it to me to keep. When you need something to eat, I will take it out for you, and if you destroy it, you will have nothing to eat. I, for one, am content to have something to live on. I am your mother, I still hope you get along well with each other in the future. Otherwise, you will be ashamed to see your brother when he comes back."

They disobeyed their mother's advice, and quarreled for days about the unequal division of the spoils, until one of the king's guards heard the secret of the saddlebag. The guard passed by his house, heard the noise, peered in through the window, and heard all about the unevenness of the division. The next day he told King Sam Doto the details of the secret he had heard during the night.

So the king had Sall and Moyo arrested and taken to the palace, where they were tortured and finally found out what had happened. The saddlebags were confiscated and the brothers were imprisoned. After that their mother was provided for by the king.

Jutes got the Ring

After a year of hard labor in the Sushi area, he crossed the sea with other shipmates. However, the ship hit rocks on the way, and only Judt survived. On shore, he trudged to an Arab tent to explain his shipwreck. A merchant from Jeddah who was in the tent took pity on him and said to him, "Egyptian, if you are willing to work for me, I will feed and clothe you and take you to Jeddah, my hometown."

Jute said yes, and he followed the merchant on his journey to Jeddah. He was honest and honest, and worked hard to win the favor of his master.

Then his master went on pilgrimage and took him with him. In Mecca, while visiting the Holy Temple, Judt bumped into his Moroccan friend Maed and shared their love. Judt, unable to hold back his tears, told his story, and Matt felt so sorry for him that he took him to his apartment. He dressed him in fine clothes and said, "Judt, you're off the hook." Then he took a sandbox and read his brother's fate. He said to him, "Judt, your two brothers have been arrested, and the king of Egypt has put them in prison. I want you to come to me. It will be good for you. '

"I need the master's permission to move."

"Do you owe him money?"

"No."

"All right! You should finish what you start. Go and ask his permission, and then move in."

Judt went back to the master and said, "I have met my brother."

"You bring him, and we'll take him to dinner."

"No, he is a rich man, and has many servants to attend to him."

The merchant gave him twenty gold pieces and said, "Do as you please, Judt."

Judt took leave of the merchant. Seeing a poor man on the road, he had compassion and generously gave him all twenty gold pieces. Judt hurried to Mader's lodger, lived with him, and spent the good part of the pilgrimage.

One day, Matt gave him the ring he had taken from Shemeldada's treasure house and said, "Here you are. It will bring you good luck. He had a capable servant named Ralton Gorthy. You have it, everything in the world. One rub of the ring, and his servant will come at once to take orders, anything he wants." As he spoke, he rubbed his ring, and the servant appeared, Shouting:

"Master! I'm coming. Can I help you? Rebuild the city, or destroy it? Destroy the army, or destroy the king?"

"Ralton Gorthy, this is your new master. From now on, you are under his command." Pointing to Judt, Matt told his servant, then made him disappear, and said to Judt, "Wipe the ring, and Kosuy will appear. Tell him what you want, and he won't disobey. Keep the ring in a good store for your revenge when you get home. Don't underestimate the value of this ring."

"Yes, please allow me to return to my hometown."

"You let the ring help. When the servant appears, get on his back and say to him, 'You must send me home by the end of the day. 'will do the trick. He won't disobey you."

Judt rescued two older brothers

Judt was so grateful to Mader that he bade him farewell, and as soon as he rubbed his ring, Ralton Gorthy appeared and said:

"Master! I have come at my command. Please tell me."

"Take me to Egypt today."

"Yes, Sir." "He said, carrying Judt on his back and rising into the sky

book review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.