Journal logo

What working at a summer camp did for me?

#CampAmerica

By Victoria KeeleyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

What did camp do for me? Working at Surprise Lake Camp for four consecutive summers really did shape me as an individual. I learned so much about myself, and also what it is like to be surrounded by those who may not share the same beliefs as you. You can test your limits, and discover new things about yourself. It was an experience I will never forget and one that I hold dear to my heart as I met some of the most amazing people throughout the four summers I was there. These beautiful people are now are considered family. Not going to lie my first summer in 2013 that I spent away from home, was the first time I had been away from ‘family’ so to speak – for more than a weekend. So it was something that was completely new to me. I cannot fault the Camp America process at all, everything was explained, and went to plan. My first three weeks away from home, in the wilderness that was Cold Spring, New York were the hardest weeks of my life at that point. I was incredibly homesick, but being surrounded by amazing people and such a wonderful community that made me feel at home was what encouraged me to pursue my dreams of travel and to stay for the three month period. It was insane. I still talk to the people I met when I first went to camp, that is how special these relationships were, you create the best community of friends that will not always be around, but will always be there for you. I have a plethora of friends from all over the world that I can rely on if I need anything. I am so grateful.

I now look back, and I had teachers, tutors and family members point out the differences when I returned home from the first summer, only now I see the difference. Not only did I lose forty pounds in weight, so becoming healthier, I grew up. When I traveled out to New York the first time, alone on a plane - it was something I could never have seen myself doing, but I did. I also never appreciated the value of cultural exchange as much as I do now. I have worked with people from different backgrounds, religions, and beliefs. It was so inspiring to listen to stories about their culture and I was so in awe of them empowering these kids with this knowledge that will be with them for life. In all seriousness it is probably one of the most rewarding experiences I have had to date, having kids tell their parents about you in the letters they send home is something you can’t predict. It happened a few times and I had the parents approach me on the visiting days and personally thank me for making a difference in their child’s time at camp -this was so rewarding and I cherish these moments. It is one of the best feelings that I honestly can’t describe to have somebody tell you that.

If you are even considering doing a Cultural Exchange Program I would 1000% recommend this as you will learn so much about yourself and what your limits and dreams truly are. It is so important in the world we live in today, that we work at encouraging ourselves to inspire, create and live the dreams we have always wanted too. I have learned over the past eight years travels, that the only thing that limits ourselves is us. So be bold, be brave and do what you set your mind too.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.