Journal logo

What more do I have to do?

The pains of being a writer

By MaryBeth CalahorranoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

First of all, I am not whining about being a writer. I know it'll sound as if I am. In actuality it is years of frustration that has built up over the years. Let me start off by saying, being a writer is one of the hardest occupations to have. You have so many stories in your head that need to be put onto a page. Yet writing them down does not come easy. I published my first book about 7 years ago. I had to self-publish, which has had minimum results. Now mind you, I finished writing my 1st book over 20 years before that. I have spent the majority of that time trying to find a publisher that would publish an unagented author. I tried many avenues. Knowing that finding an agent is even more difficult than finding a publisher. I decided to go the self-publishing route. Even going with self-publishing, I couldn't pay for all I wanted to do with my book. I could not set up book signings with my local book sellers, because every time I tried I either missed the regional manager or they would take my info and of course never hear from the regional manager. I couldn't pay for promotions or book events. I am a blue-collar work by force not because I wanted to be. So naturally, I struggle with money in this economy.

Here's the thing, I pour my heart and soul into my work, like all writers, I believe in my work. For years, none of my friends or family knew I was writing a novel. I started writing when I was 16 years old. Finishing my 1st book by 23, I currently have four stories in the works. Yet I have no drive anymore. This business had beaten me down so hard over the years that I have no choice but to throw in the towel. I still write on occasion. Although I know I will never get published again. Being on Vocal did help open up some new avenues. Such as new topics and a forum for anything you would like to write. For all the pro's that this platform has given me, there are many cons as well. More times than I can count, I thought I had a good story to tell. Even on here it has showed me that this is also another failure. At this point in time, I am leaving writing behind. It may sound as if I am giving up on my talent. In a way I am. It's more like taking a break. I can't keep pouring energy and money into something that has brought me very little results. I have posted stories on my Facebook many times. Friends and family liking my writing. I even have people that are from other countries that have praised my writing. Like I was told many years ago, they are my friends and family of course they will give me praise. I stated prior, none of them knew I was writing. So, I decided to cast my net wider with being on here and self-publishing. Both have proved to me that this career is just a pipe dream. I hope that one day I can come back to this and make something with my stories. For now, I have to say goodbye.

I appreciate all who have supported me through the years with this. The decision I have made is one that was hard fought. I fought for a long time to keep going. As of this moment I am on a permanent vacation. Thank you for listening to my rant. You may carry on.

career
1

About the Creator

MaryBeth Calahorrano

I've been writing for a number of years now. I have a published book through Page Publishing and I am currently working on several books. Looking to expand my brand. As well as make some new writer friends.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • The Coffee Ghostabout a year ago

    In my experience the internet as a platform for putting yourself out there really seems to be a lottery. I believe, like in many areas of life, those who start off with money and connections will always have the upper hand. They can simply pour more resources feel less negative effects. That makes it difficult for people starting from the ground up to actually get anywhere. I know I am just one random person on the internet, but I really do hope everything works out for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.