Journal logo

What Is The Tales of Three Triplets About?

Lots of thought and risk went into putting this out for you guys, I hope you enjoy reading it.

By Lizzy ArrowPublished 7 years ago 5 min read
Like
Created by Lizzy Arrow

I had started writing The Tales of Three Triplets originally when I was in year 10 I think, which would be back in 2006. I'm not 100% sure, it's been going for so long that I've been re-writing it non-stop over the years. I have a series of questions that I will answer truthfully, honestly and the best I can so that you guys can understand the main reason behind my writing and the methodology I use.

  1. Explain the title: The Tales of the Triplets came about when I was trying to think of what to call the whole book. There will be a series of short stories that will link throughout the book. Overall, the book shares the tales of what the triplets have gotten up to and each story discusses how they felt during a specific situation.
  2. What category or genre do you think it fits into? The genre is a fantasy children’s book; It allows children to explore the world of their imagination, letting them go wild with thoughts of having fantasy animals and wanting to go to old places that may have been mentioned in the book.
  3. What was your purpose as an author? The purpose was to get the insight of each triplet, as each character has their own unique sense of doing things. Two of them do slip up when they push Duncan's buttons and they never know when he is going to go off on them. Mainly it's James that says something that ticks Duncan off because he doesn't think; he just says things before thinking.
  4. Something you liked about it: The fact that they are learning about themselves along the way; whilst looking for something, but also to be able to get to know each other more as they haven't been together since they've been an infant. Also each one has my sort of character; weather I'm angry I make one of the characters angry, if I'm upset get one of the characters to be upset and so on.
  5. Something you disliked about it: What I don't like about it is that James winds even me up at the best of times I know I made the character; every author has one character that they really don't like don't they? I've just told you mine.
  6. Describe the setting: Each story will be a follow up on where the previous story left off; It should flow swimmingly like they were meant to be one whole book, but each story has a twist. Just when you think they will be safe! Then boom! Something happens to them.
  7. Which character did you like most? There's this one character that I love the most; but I can't really tell you much about him; he is a classic fun guy who's related to the triplets one way or another but they don't know it yet and neither does the person. He's always a practical joker that plays tricks on everyone from left, right and centre.
  8. Which character did you like least? As I have mentioned in one of the questions the one character I least don't like is James; he does try his hardest to be not the stupid one, or the annoying one as that but he's just one of the poses characters that you just want to punch in the face. Pretty much want to do that everyday at people in the real world to be honest; but I like it in this world as I get someone else to do my dirty work, at the end of the day it's my characters and I can pretty much do what I like within reason of course.
  9. Describe one of the main characters: To describe one main character…hmm let me think. I'm going to go for Duncan; this is because I based Duncan around my cousin who's autistic, so I thought wouldn't it be cool to explore my world through the eyes of a character who is autistic. But with a shocking twist that his magical power impacts his special needs. He can also experience a normal life as well. Duncan has blonde browny hair; rather likes it flat and into his eyes a bit, he's taller and the oldest out of the three of them.
  10. Would you get these stories published on paper? I would definitely get these blog stories on paper one day soon; I would love to see how well they do, that's why I want to see how well they do online to begin with. If they do well then I’ll find the courage to get them published.

The whole process of creating Tales of Three Triplets can be quite challenging at the best of times. Sometimes I lose touch with it either because I'm so busy with other things or I don't know what to write or get so frustrated with it that I don't think that they are good enough pieces of work.

The majority of the process can be easy when I know what to write; as my pen flows onto the paper, I don't actually write the story I let the characters tell the story for themselves. It's all about them. They are the stars of the stories. Not me. I like to think in my head that I have a meeting with all the characters; one by one they have ideas for me to write down, or they give me ideas on post its that they have written i.e. Me obviously.

When it thunderstorms I cheekily joke with myself that I'm not coming up to sort them out I'm busy, you sort yourselves out this time. I tend to joke about the quotes and share them on Twitter then realise that no one knows the joke. other than my sister and my cousin. However, now that I say something in reference you guys know even if I'm writing a blog and I say something.

The process for me is to think of each section as a beginning with a set of questions. Each question has a paragraph of a brief summary to answer it. Once the brief outset of the whole story is done, in the next notebook I write it out all out, adding more description into the paragraphs and then when it comes to the typing up I edit the story that way. I also like to research places to add more feel to it, and if I've been there then I hope my readers will get the sense that the characters have, too.

careerindustry
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Arrow

I'm a full time blogger...I love writing writing is my passion. I write different types of things even have my own website called lizzysweeklyblogs.

Www.lizzysweeklyblogs.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.