Journal logo

What I've Discovered About Writing on Vocal

A Rookie's Reflection

By Bryan R..Published 3 years ago 3 min read
14
What I've Discovered About Writing on Vocal
Photo by Art Lasovsky on Unsplash

About 40 years ago, as a youngster in Elementary school, I discovered a love of writing. I won a short story competition and read my winning "masterpiece" to a ladies' book club society. I accepted a blue ribbon and certificate and marked it as a special day in my young life. I continued to dabble with story-writing, sitting down at my desk when inspiration struck, but neglected to do much more with the hobby until after graduating from college. Life posed too many distractions for me to jot down my thoughts on paper.

Then, I married. I started a career. My wife and I started having kids...and having kids. Now, as I approach the half-century mark, I am once again turning to my creative muse and enjoying every minute.

I found Vocal on February 4th of 2021 and decided to pay for the three-month trial subscription. Since that time, I have written and had published twenty-two entries. My first submission, "Hidden Secrets" has garnered over one hundred views. I submitted this on the day I signed up and entered it into the "Little Black Book" challenge. Although the odds of winning or even placing is slim because of the number of entrants, I find myself harkening back to the days of old, once again daydreaming about story lines and creative names for protagonists.

By Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

What have I learned?

1. Vocal+ will not make me rich. Though there are ways to earn a little money through this platform, I will not be quitting my day job any time soon. After being a member for three weeks, my Vocal wallet contains $17.98 . I have been fortunate enough to be awarded two bonuses, one for reading several entries and the other for the number of submissions published. For reads, I have only made $2.98 cents. Without any further bonuses, I am guessing I will be able to cash out my first $20 in about six weeks. But I did not join Vocal to become rich but to hone a hobby.

2. I enjoy the challenges. I frequently struggle with writer's block when dreaming up story lines on my own. However, the challenges help me by requiring certain themes and or criteria. I liken this to be given an assignment in school. This gives me direction and focus, making it easier for me to come up with ideas.

3. Promotion is key. Reads equal pay. Vocal creators are paid $3.80 / 1000 reads. Vocal+ creators are paid $6.00 / 1000 reads. Readers also can tip writers for stories that move them emotionally. These tips go straight into the writer's Stripe account. As mentioned already, these kinds of numbers will not make Bill Gates jealous, however, reads can add up. Promotion is key. I joke that if no one else reads my stories, I can always count on my Mom. Fortunately, in this digital age, we can count on many more connections. Post your stories on Facebook. Recently, I shared two stories, both for the Little Black Book challenge and I pleaded for my friends to read both and share their favorite. Many did. I have also joined two Vocal Facebook groups, my favorite being Vocal Creators Saloon. The members seem to be determined to encourage and help each other in the world of writing. Then there's Twitter. Tweet out your stories and use hashtags like #WritingCommunity and #writers. Interact with fellow writers, build online relationships, ask for feedback and offer to aid your writing peers as well. Take advantage of Instagram and Pinterest. The opportunities for free promotion are endless.

4. Write what you enjoy but be mindful that the story needs to connect with people. You might be a polished writer, but if your story fails to connect with the editors, the article may find itself buried amongst all the other average submissions. I was told by a seasoned writer for Vocal that to set yourself a part as a writer, be creative. Provide a different perspective. Be unique. One way to do this is type in the search bar a word that describes your topic and read what other authors have already written. If you cannot provide any further insight, then consider choosing another topic.

You may never become an award winning author, but you can succeed at scribbling down your own thoughts and ideas. Some may find your writing engaging while others may yawn through it. Either way, write what you enjoy and work to weave stories that others will love as well.

industry
14

About the Creator

Bryan R..

Husband. Father. Music and Youth Pastor. I enjoy writing as a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.