Journal logo

Side Gigs Make a Difference

Making Extra Money for Difficult Times

By Bryan R..Published 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Side Gigs Make a Difference
Photo by Josh Appel on Unsplash

If you buy groceries or fuel or anything, you've probably noticed a substantial hike in costs. News outlets report we've experienced a 5% inflationary increase in the past year. That must be fuzzy math or a common core finagling of the numbers, because I would argue that it's much higher. My wife and I have been blessed with six kids...that eat...Groceries that cost $200 just a few months ago, now range from $350 to $400. Unfortunately, that's a per week increase of up to 100%. Since my teenagers balk at fasting 3-4 days per week, I determined to make some extra money to help with grocery bills.

I've always been enamored with "American Pickers." For those unfamiliar with the show, a couple of friends travel America looking for the unique and unusual, usually antiques, to buy and then flip for a profit. Though I can't afford the time or the expense of traveling coast to coast, I can shop at garage sales, yard sales, auctions and local thrift stores. There's cash to be made if you look with a discerning eye.

Maybe you're thinking, how do I know what to flip? There are several things that have helped me determine whether an item is flippable or not. But the one thing I enjoy the most in research is watching YouTube videos. The two channels I frequent regularly are The Homeschooling Picker and Hairy Tornado. Both channels feature a husband and wife duo buying people's "junk," proving the adage "one man's trash is another man's treasure." Some of the items they've found have trained my eyes to spot "in the wild" as well.

Once you find an item, where do you resell? Probably the easiest way to flip an item is Facebook Marketplace. Although Facebook now offers the option for sellers to ship, I choose local pickup only. This preference negates the necessity of calculating shipping costs and finding the right size box. If you choose this method of reselling, take proper precautions. In most cases, you're probably meeting a stranger. Ask the buyer to meet at a very public location. In some instances, the local police department provides a designated area in their parking lot for business transactions.

Personally, I sell on both Marketplace and Ebay. (I have set up an account on Poshmark, but no sells as of yet.) Currently, Ebay serves as my primary means of extra cash. In the last ninety days, I've made $1651.57 in gross sales. Now, before jumping on the reseller bandwagon, you must realize that Ebay ends up collecting about 15% in fees. Then, factor in the original cost of the items. So, keeping that in mind that drops my sales to $1204.00. And unfortunately, the government wants their share...about another 25%. This drops the net to $904. But, that's about three weeks of groceries for my family...and that's a significant blessing.

When selling online, there are some important things to keep in mind. First, when listing, take good pictures of the item you're selling. Snap shots of the product from multiple angles, highlighting any imperfections. Second, when describing the piece, be thorough, once again detailing any defects. Great pictures and descriptions protect the seller from petty complaints by the buyer. Then, be mindful of shipping costs. Flat rate boxes are a great option...if it fits it ships. You could buy a small scale and measure and weigh and utilize Ebay Shipping. Ebay rates for postage are cheaper than paying the United States Postal Service. If you fail to be accurate on what postage will cost, it's possible to end up losing money, which defeats the whole purpose of this type of side gig.

Now, let me share some of the kind of things that have sold within the last sixty days, and the profit each generated.

I found this little gem in a tub of odds and ends at a local Goodwill. When I saw the sticker of 50 cents, I snatched it up. Later that evening, I posted this on Ebay and sold it for $35 plus shipping.

I have discovered that Bibles, depending upon the version and whether or not it offers quality study notes, can bring quite a bit of cash. I bought this one at a garage sale for $1 and it sold on Ebay for $139 a week later.

I happened to find this ornament tucked away on the back of a shelf at a local thrift store. I paid $3 for the ornament and sold it on Ebay for $35 plus shipping.

About a month ago, I found this movie, sealed in its original plastic. I learned several weeks ago that certain unopened VHS movies bring big bucks. This was one of them. I paid one dollar and sold it on Ebay for $110 within one hour of listing it.

If these tips have helped fan the flame to start reselling to make a little extra cash, I'd appreciate a heart and a follow. Tips would be welcomed...remember, I'm feeding a personal army. If you have an Ebay account and would like to see other items I have listed, go to Ebay, select advanced search and under sellers enter my user name: brvan716q0r.

Be watching for other tips on how to make money reselling.

how to
2

About the Creator

Bryan R..

Husband. Father. Music and Youth Pastor. I enjoy writing as a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.