Journal logo

What I learned in 6 weeks unemployed

New passion and view for work and life

By sith queenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It's been an interesting 6 weeks of job hunting, interviews and asking myself what I want to do. I have learned a lot in the last years but I don't think I realized how much until this experience, so I thought I would share some of those .

For the first time in my life, I put a price on myself. I don't mean that in an "I am owed" kind of way, but in an "I know my worth" kind of way. I always hated when companies ask, "What do you expect to make". It seemed like a setup question to me and I never had an answer. I low balled because I figured that was the safe route. This time, , I had a solid figure in my brain, balancing what I believe my time is worth and my budget needs. a strange, but empowering realization.

Second, I learned it truly is to turn down a job if you don't mesh with a company. Another question I have always disliked is, "Why do you want to work for us?". My sarcastic brain reverts to the obvious answer, "I need to make money". This time was different. This time I truly realized I was interviewing the company as much as they were interviewing me. I was able to categorize what I was looking for in a company and tailor my questions for them appropriately. a strange sensation, knowing I was unemployed but willing to turn down a job because I didn't agree with the companies values.

The third thing I learned or rather relearned, is that I like supporting others. I started an Instagram and a Twitter and I have been having a lot of fun making videos highlighting companies I like and want to do well. Years ago I had a website and played with being an affiliate for companies but as soon as I started working 2 full-time jobs I let it all go. This time, I have sat down, figured out my work schedules, and have committed to keeping it going. This brings me to my fourth lesson.

I have learned to schedule a time for what I like to do. I realize this sounds crazy to some of you, but easy for me to get so focused on work I don't take time to write or even breathe. Now, I have scheduled time to do the I like to do. I have a multi-part fantasy story in the works and even if 3 or 4 people like it enough to read the whole thing, I enjoy writing it and want to keep that joy in my life. Not guaranteeing the creativity will be there when I need it, but at least I have learned how to balance all my interests without feeling guilty about it.

I realize these are not revelations and may not help everyone, but I wanted to share it anyway. It's to breathe, to take a chance, to try something new, or rekindle something old. I don't expect to make money off my writing or my social media silliness, but it makes me happy and it reminds me to not take myself . Find that thing that helps you stay sane and go for it. The people who love you will support you, a stranger may stumble upon your profile and be inspired or you may even reconnect with an old acquaintance. case scenario, you laugh at our own videos.

Stay Spooky!!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

sith queen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.