Journal logo

What does earning something mean?

Earn Now

By umer aliPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like
What does earning something mean?
Photo by Fabian Blank on Unsplash

What does earning something mean?

Earn a salary or a fee, earn a regular price, earn a commission, earn a reward or bonus, earn, earn, earn. If you think about it that way, if someone comes up to you and says, “Gee, I hear you’re earning $20,000,” or “You’re earning $200 a month,” what do you hear? Earning, earning, earning, earning. It says, “You need to do something for me in return for this.”

Earn, earn, earn. How many people do you know who earn what they’re earning? I don’t know any. Earning is a bad term. Earning is not a good term. Earning is an obligation; earning is something you do, as in, “Earn this cookie from the cookie lady, earn it.”

How do you earn?

Earn by producing things for other people. What’s the highest number you know of, that someone has earned?

Earning is, earn by doing something you love, earning something you enjoy, earning something you like doing. I know that’s a strange way to define it. I should say something, but I’m going to pull out that earring and start earning that myself.

You’re on an island right now, and you’re earning that earring, but earning is worth what you do for others. It’s worth the time you spend with them. It’s worth being able to earn that bag of popcorn from the movie theater, that bag of chips at the snack shop. It’s worth learning, and teaching and learning from them, learning from them. It’s something different. So what you do isn’t worth as much as the work you do.

With respect to movie theaters, movies are not worth as much as the work you do there, and you do that in order to earn the money you need for the movie tickets you buy. It’s something you’re doing for other people. It’s not just what you’re doing to earn a new watch, or to earn a new outfit, or anything like that. You do it for other people.

Then there’s the thing you do for your work, for you. You earn money in your work, but not necessarily in order to buy things.

When people say that they’re earning something, it’s usually because they have to do something for somebody else. That’s the opposite of earning. That’s not earning. I think we’re so used to hearing words that mean the opposite of what they mean that we’re inclined to go, “Oh, the Earring Lady earns that earring.”

Well, she earns $400 a month, but that doesn’t mean that she should earn $400 a month. It just means that she works for that kind of money. It’s like making a living. I mean, you don’t make a living to spend a living. You make a living to earn a living. The Earring Lady earns the $400 a month so she can live. The Earring Lady does not earn $400 a month in order to go out to the movies, or to go to the beach, or whatever.

At the beginning of this talk, you mentioned that when you have children, earning is a good word to hear. That’s also true with work. You say, “Earn is a bad word,” but it’s still a word that we’re used to hearing. How do we talk about earning when it’s not a bad word?

Let’s look at it this way: If you went to a bank and said, “I would like to borrow $2 million.” That’s all the money you need. You know, that’s what they lend you. They go, “I don’t have any other money, but you’ll earn $2 million in return for your $2 million.” That’s a bad deal.

So, to avoid that kind of a deal, they just don’t lend you any money at all. No one would go to a bank and say, “I would like to earn $2 million.” Well, why would I say that? I just don’t earn $2 million. That would be the wrong word to say.

So, the language we have for earning is not the language we need. It’s just a word we have for when we want something.

It’s like I used to hear, when I was growing up, and even today, “He’s a slacker.” Just a word we use. It means we don’t like what the person is doing, so we don’t like that person. So, we don’t say, “He’s not earning $2 million. He’s not a slacker.” That would be bad. Instead, we just don’t say that person earns that money. We say he’s a slacker.

I also hear, “He’s a nut.” That’s a bad word, too. It means you’re crazy, or weird. But you know what? When you have two words that mean the same thing, then the language can go on and on and on. We just use a one-word language, and we can also have longer and more meaningful conversations with each other about what we do and why we do what we do.

Let’s look at work like that. We go out and we ask people to work for us. We say, “Can you do that job for me?”

Sometimes, what we do is change a job so that you do a different job, so that the job that you do becomes something different.

Well, that’s not work. That’s the opposite of work. That’s a way of getting paid. It’s not work. Work is a job where you do something for the owner of the company so he can have a way of paying you and so you can have a way of living.

Then, we can say, “That’s not work, that’s an office job.”

Office jobs, in this country, are not a way of living, but they are a way of earning. It’s a way of earning money. And so, the word, “office job,” now sounds very much the same as the word “slacker.” It’s a bad word, because people use it in different ways.

That’s one thing that happened when work became a word. It became very much the same as all the other words we have in the English language, which doesn’t mean that the things that are happening in that work are the same as other things that are happening in the language.

Let’s turn to writing. One of the great sins that English has suffered from in the last century is to the loss of the words “to write.”

Our grandmothers — and grandpas and great-grandpas — told stories. They told stories the same way their parents told stories and their grandparents told stories. They didn’t call them stories. They called them “to write.”

They called them, “To write a letter.” And it would be in the story.

They would tell a story to each other, because they didn’t have the Internet or the written word. They didn’t have this thing called a book. So, they had to tell stories the same way they would tell a story to a person. The words they used were very clear. They called it “to write a letter.” “I write a letter to you.” They didn’t talk about the verb “write,” because that’s a rule we have for speech. It sounds formal.

They called it “to write a letter.” And they wrote letters to each other all the time. They knew that you didn’t call something “write.”

They knew you called it “write a letter,” and they called it, “to write a letter.”

There was one way they said it.

That’s all they had to know.

So, if I were to say, “I am going to write a letter to you,” the way I say it is very simple. It’s not complicated. The same word they used to use for telling stories and for sending letters — “to write.” They used “to write a letter.”

Now, if we say, “I am going to write a letter to you,” that sounds strange to me.

Why is it strange?

I am not telling you what to write. I am not telling you how to write. I am telling you to do something.

The problem with saying “I am going to write a letter to you” is, if the sentence goes on to say, “I am going to write you a letter,” then the whole sentence is lost. You have to repeat that “to write.” It takes away the coherence of the sentence.

This is something that started happening with the words, “to write” and “to write a letter.” The same thing is happening with the words we use for news media. They are losing the ability to say, “I am going to tell you news.”

We say, “I am going to write a story for you.”

They just don’t make any sense.

I know how to write a story.

I just write stories for me.

And, to tell you news, I am going to tell you news.

If you think of it like that, it’s pretty clear why the word “to write” is being lost in all of these places. It’s because we’re telling stories, not because we are telling news.

A book is an inventory. It contains the story. It tells the story and you can use the word “to write” in it.

A newspaper is not a book. A news story is not a story. It is not a story.

News is an interruption. It’s something that breaks. It has no continuity.

The original reason for the word “to write” was not a change of topic. It was a change of object.

If you are telling a story about a dog, and the dog is sitting in the back seat of the car and your passenger is driving, you would say, “Hey, I’m going to write a story about this dog, about what a dog is doing in the back seat of the car,” because you wanted to break away from that topic and say something about the new thing.

The reason the word “to write” is so important is because...

What are we chasing?

God didn't start the world to have something to give us.

When people ask me if I had a certain amount of money I would not own a home.

I would buy a one - bedroom apartment on top of my car and sell my car and live in the one bedroom.

When people ask me why I don't like things that are material I just respond: I don't like stuff.

This means things like jewelry, cars, houses, clothes, and furniture.

Things that only have a short life.

These are not bad things, they are just not really me.

People don't really want to earn a living.

In fact, I want to earn a living, too.

I want to earn money so I can be involved in what I want to be involved in.

Sin puts us on a low

humanitycareerbusiness warsbusinessartappareladvice
Like

About the Creator

umer ali

You Might Learn A thing or two here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.