Journal logo

Week One Creative Writing Class

book used is Imaginative Writing by Janet Burroway

By Sarah Plain And AveragePublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
Week One Creative Writing Class
Photo by Prophsee Journals on Unsplash

Wednesday:

1.1: Write Anything/ Various Things

1-Itchy Peach

2-Dancing handkerchief

3-torn house

4-belligerent bean bag

5-talking potato

6-grumpy blanket

7-wandering marshmallow

8-ticklish paintbrush

9-greedy butterfly

10-lazy water balloon

1.2:Make A List/ What to Take on A Journey

A:Things to take on a journey:

1-water

2-food

3-clothing

4-pocket knife

5-blanket

6-first aid

7-matches

8-tent

9-compass

10-good length of rope

B: Blanket (Pink An Item and Write A Memoir)

I grew up with a little white blankie. It was woven from soft cotton and I couldn’t sleep without it. Even though it was small, it was big enough to wrap around my shoulder and rub a corner on my upper lip. Such a motion helped me feel peace. The soft corner made my upper lip go buzzy and numb which helped when I was over-stimulated. However, a problem that would happen to often was that I would rub the corner so much it would fall apart. So I would switch to the next corner and continue my way around until each corner had fallen apart. This was not the end, however, because my mother was smart and would hem and trim the edges of the blanket away to give me new corners. And so the cycle continued with the blanket growing ever smaller. While I do not still sleep with the same blankie, I still have the habit of rubbing the softer corners of my upper lip after a hard day to calm down and I don’t think it is a habit I will ever drop.

C: (Write A Single Line About Each Item)

1-water: It is a large part of me and without it I die.

2-food: Both a pleasure and a pain, but fuel for my brain.

3-clothing: It both comforts and protects like a dearest friend.

4-pocket knife: Versatile and portable but easily lost.

5-blanket: A weight that is welcomed and mourned when left.

6-first aid: What you buy with the hopes of not using.

7-matches: Takes confidence to produce a spark and light a fire.

8-tent: Grumble under it during the hike and thank it during the night.

9-compass: Always points north, but which way is home?

10-good length of rope: Good advice from a book you fool of a took

1.3: (List of Places You See)

1-walmart

2-dollar tree

3-taco bell

4-shoe carnival

Walmart: (Write a paragraph of what one of the name suggests to you)

I must go to the store because I feel like I am in the wide open. To open. To wide. How in the world shall I hide? I will go into the mart of walls to pick up a few. 1, 2, 3, and 4, will do. I pick out a cart. It’s awfully small for a wall, but I will suspend my disbelief. I will take anything at all. There are isles and isles, all nice and tall, but not in a single one of them can I find myself a wall. I find Cheetos, toilet paper, milk, and a baseball bat, but where are the walls? Where are they at? After a long time of searching, I go to the front. My cart is still empty and I return it with a grunt. I must say there are no walls in Walmart. If you need a place to go, next time try hallmart.

Friday:

1.5:

A: Make a List of Question I Want Answered.

-Do butterflies pollinate?

-What is the rarest type of flower?

-What is the recommended amount of time a person should spend reading a year?

-How much water does a person inhale in order to get pneumonia?

B: (Choose one to research and write about your findings) What is the rarest flower?

-The most rarest is the “Middlesmist’s Red” with only two known in existence.

-The rare flower with the most interesting would be the “Chocolate Cosmos” which gives off the sweet scent of chocolate. It is extinct in the wild but clones of it exist and can be cultivated.

-The rare flower I find the prettiest would be the “Jade Vine” because I didn’t know those colors could exist in nature.

C: Write A Poem Using What You Have Learned

All alone with no one to tell

For in the wilderness I find a new smell

No, not a new smell, but one that does not belong

I scramble and sniff, “oh it has been too long”

Down on all fours with my nose to the ground

But despite my searching it can not be found

long hours did I spend sniffing away

Smelling chocolate that I wanted this day

But when I came to the source of this maddening smell

I was sad to say I was not doing so well

For there was not chocolate but a small little flower

I had been tricked by this small siren’s power

1.6: (Find a Topic of cross-genra to write about) Poetry Paintings

I found poetry paintings very inspiring because they were abstract and made to capture the same emotions and rhythms that the poetry was meant to imply. Some were representational paintings but a large majority of them were abstract in order to display the feelings without actually showing the in a way that uses symbols and recognizable connections.

1.7:

This journal is my lifeline. When the rain falls and the flood comes it is my buoy. Not because it is stronger and more powerful than God. Not that connecting to myself makes me more stronger than the strength that God gives me. It is because I am able to run deep with my emotions and write to God who is in my heart. One word, one sentence, one page, will rise up through my pencil. The emotions don’t come out, they come in. Emotions on the page. Up the arm, into the shoulder and delving into my heart. I can be honest because God already knows the emotions on the page before I know them. He does not need to to write them for Him. It is for myself so I can meet and talk through my emotions with Him. To see them on the page where they can not hide inn the dark corner of my heart. If the pen is a sword, it slashes through the viel in which I cloud my emotions. It cuts deep until all that was within comes out. It is a battle against myself with God on the other side waiting to comfort me. The pen cuts deep and opens the wounds to allow me to feel pain. It is a brutal slaughter, but one that leads to life instead of death. That is why the most dangerous thing I can do is set pen to page.

Index Story:

I am who I am because of the purr from the cat I befriended and with whose kitten I grew up with. Because of the mask, I wore when the ash fell. It was the feeling of my stomach being left on the runway as the plane took flight. From prickly weeds to silky smooth fields. From a fresh tortilla to a bowl of grease. From volcanoes to never-ending lakes. From a moto-taxi ride to one on horseback. I am who I am because of the blanket that joined me in every bed I ever slept. I am who I am because of a crochet hook, a needle, and a paintbrush. I am who I am because of my bible and my closet. I am who I am because I am me and that is enough.

I Wish:

I wish life was easier. I wish I could find rest. I wish I didn’t always feel like this. I wish I could be more honest. I wish things weren’t so hard. I wish I couldn’t feel other people’s emotions. I wish I didn’t hurt so many people. I wish I could be a better wife. I wish I could have a good nights sleep. I wish I could feel God a little closer. I wish I was a unicorn. I wish we could play DND in a simulation world.

Chosen Free Write: I wish I could feel God closer to me

What would it be like if we could walk constantly with God? Feel Him beside us and talk to Him. If God walked next to me I would ask Him about hard decision, although He would probably not tell me a direct answer knowing Him. He wants me to be able to trust Him, and to learn to make wise decisions. He would walk beside and help me grow but without ever controlling my actions. I could show Him ever art piece I ever made and see His reaction, which I hope would be pride. However, all of these things I can learn to do while walking beside Him in Spirit. Therefore, my one wish involving God walking beside me would be able to give Him a hug.

List of Things That You Would Like To Be An Expert In:

-expert in paint and all things art

-telling stories

-photography

-stop-motion

-raising kids

-decorating cakes

-organizing

-finances

-exercising

-nutrition

-weaving

-writing

-technology

-planning

-hosting

-travelling

-cooking

-cats

-sign language

-helping the disabled

-jewelry making

-nail art

-glass blowing

-building and house repairs

-cars

-business

-taxes

Telling Stories:

People always ask me where I am from and other things about my past. Little did they know I hardly ever tell the simple version. My life is very mediocre and there isn’t much there to tell, however just by adding a little spice in and a few exaggerations my words become magic. I can do the voices and suddenly the guy I bumped into on the bus can now be a mysterious stranger with an Italian accent making his way to my small town with unfinished business. Missing the school bus can become an action story once I jump on the table miming how I was out of breath I was as I chased the metal beast. Every breath, to my loudest and to my quietest, it doesn’t matter how important my story is because when I tell it becomes of the utmost importance. The audience is in the palm of my hand and everyone I meet is my audience.

book reviewliterature
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Plain And Average

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.