Journal logo

Vocal Refinements

A few items I think Vocal could implement to make it even better

By Mother CombsPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
7
Image by WOKANDAPIX from Pixabay

Writing on Vocal has been a fantastic experience for me. The platform is excellent for writers to gather and offer advice and encouragement. There isn’t much I would change about Vocal as it is now, but there are a few things that I would add. Items I think would make things better all around. I will discuss these shortly.

First, Vocal has been a lifeline for me. It has given me a platform to publish my nonsense, making things easier to share with family and friends. I’ve always entertained my family with stories, and by using Vocal, I can continue communicating with my family, even though we live states apart and don’t see each other often. Plus, publishing on Vocal has given me such a feeling of accomplishment. It’s also saved me from so much boredom.

One of the first things I’d love to see added is the ability to see who follows you by clicking on the followers' number on the stats page. This addition would help with networking so you can double-check that you follow all your followers. One of the things I do on Vocal is read all posts by people I follow. I do this before looking at the Top Story or Latest Story section. Whoever follows me deserves to be followed back and networked with the most.

Another thing that would be nice is getting a notification when someone stops following us. Include a message as to why the follower stopped following. Adding this to the site could help writers know what to improve to keep their followers. There isn’t anything wrong with unfollowing, but there is a massive problem with not knowing why we lost a follower. It would be nice to know who stopped following, but I understand why the names of those who stopped following are not shared.

I would also love to see more writing tools in the publishing faze. As it is now, we can not center or right align our work. We also need to be able to choose different writing fonts. These tools would improve the looks of some of our posts so much. I would also love to see the toolbar at the top of the work area, not a floating piece appearing when we select a word or phrase. This stationary bar would make things much easier when preparing our posts for publication.

It would also be nice to see an article from the platform explaining how they chose the top story. As it is, it is hard to tell what criteria the platform uses to decide who makes it to the top. Until the platform does add this, many will continue demanding it. It would not hurt to get this out of the way now so that everyone can concentrate on other questions.

More challenges. Daily, weekly and monthly challenges. I can’t stress more challenges enough. We writers always need more challenges. More writing prompts. More, more, more. The writing prompt inspires us to try better. One can not have enough challenges.

These are all the things I would like to see added to Vocal. Each one can make this site an even better place than it already is. Adding more tools for more efficient writing and networking is always great. More challenges would encourage more writers to write their best. It never hurts to be more transparent, either. I hope to see some, if not all, of these suggestions implemented one day.

>^<>^<>^<>^<

Author’s Note:

This article in no way reflects the beliefs, wants, or needs of all writers on vocal. This article is meant to share the Author’s thoughts only.

workflowfact or fictionadvice
7

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin for the FB Group ViM

Mike Judey Dharr

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I’m barely following anyone at all. It’s nothing personal, Vocal just needs to stop putting newly published stories in my notifications. It’s overwhelming, and it makes it so easy for me to miss comments from people. What I do is regularly check out stories from my favorite creators when I have downtime. Seems like you got your wish with the Top Stories clarification. I hope you get more. ✨

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I agree with everything except for number 2. I don't want to know who unfollows me, it doesn't interest me in the least. Some Vocal creators are very sensitive and wouldn't take that kindly.

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    These are some great ideas.♥️

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    These are great suggestions! It would be great to have more flexibility in editing, and I've really wanted to see my followers list so I can reciprocate more fully. I'd also really like to get notifications when someone mentions me in a story - right now, I just have to be lucky enough to click it and see it, or they have to be kind enough to let me know!

  • Ariel Joseph9 months ago

    Totally agree with these, especially seeing who subscribes to you. I think it's kind of strange that you can't right now. I wouldn't necessarily keep tabs on it but I also want to be sure I'm being supportive/subscribing to creators who are doing that for me.

  • Some good points, I wish they would remove publications from notifications as they are on the subscription feed anyway, so I miss so many comments and people who follow me. I have written so many things about Vocal failings and they have all been ignored. Useful article.

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Some great points here!! I agree about reading all (well as much as I can) from those we subscribe to first. I honestly rarely go to top stories etc. Glad to hear Vocal has been so useful for you as well! ☺️

  • Oh yes, I too wanna be able to see who follows me so that I can make sure that I'm following back too. And to also know if anyone has unfollowed us and the reason for it so we can improve. I also would love more tools like the font types and colours. Hope they would provide these changes!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    All your points seem quite valid. Thank you for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.