Journal logo

V log Mountain Climbing

Hiking at Korean Center of City, Seoul

By AhronPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
V log Mountain Climbing
Photo by David Groves on Unsplash

Have you ever been to Korea?

If not, let me take you on a virtual hike to Gwanak Mountain in Gwacheon. It's been a while since I came here for a hike, but I'm excited to share this experience with you.

As I exited Gwacheon subway station, I saw the magnificent Mt. Gwanak standing tall and proud. The transmitter of the Korea broadcasting company was also visible in the distance. Turning left towards The Hyanggyo, I took the road with a view of Gwacheon Hyanggyo Confucian School, ready to start my hike.

It took me around 15 minutes to walk from the station to the starting point of the hike. Once there, I changed into my hiking gear and began my climb up the mountain. The steep stone mountain along the valley made for a challenging climb, but it was also very rewarding.

As I climbed higher, I came across a shelter set up in case of an emergency. The summit was visible from here, and I could hear the sound of water in the distance. Taking a break, I enjoyed the beautiful view of Mt. Gwanak and drank from the mineral spring nearby.

Some people started to descend as I continued the climb, but I had brought a banana and water to refresh myself, so I kept going. Finally, after a challenging climb, I reached the top and saw Eonjusa, a temple built on the mountaintop. Temples like this are often built on high places in Korea and used for meditation.

Taking a moment to enjoy the peaceful surroundings, I listened to the music coming from the temple. The front view was the Daeungjeon Hall, with attached buildings to the left and right. Workers were currently working on the construction of the temple, adding to its beauty.

From the back of the temple, I could see two roads. If I went upstairs and turned right, I would reach Seoul National University. If I turned left, there was a road to Anyang Amusement Park. But for now, it was time to head back down the mountain.

As I descended, I couldn't help but feel grateful for the unique experience I had just had. Gwanak Mountain in Gwacheon was truly a remarkable place, and I hope that I was able to convey that through my virtual hike.

If you ever get the chance to visit Korea, make sure to add Gwanak Mountain to your list of places to see. It's an unforgettable experience that you won't want to miss.

Here I'd like to share one poem which I deeply impressed recently;

You can watch revised heavy metal version song by clicking here also;

" If " - by Rudyard Kipling

If you can keep your head when all about you

Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,

If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you

But make allowance for their doubting too,

If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,

Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,

Or being hated, don't give way to hating,

And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise:

If you can dream--and not make dreams your master,

If you can think--and not make thoughts your aim;

If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster

And treat those two impostors just the same;

If you can bear to hear the truth you've spoken

Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,

Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,

And stoop and build them up with worn-out tools:

If you can make one heap of all your winnings

And risk it all on one turn of pitch-and-toss,

And lose, and start again at your beginnings

And never breath a word about your loss;

If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew

To serve your turn long after they are gone,

And so hold on when there is nothing in you

Except the Will which says to them: "Hold on!"

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,

Or walk with kings--nor lose the common touch,

If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;

If all men count with you, but none too much,

If you can fill the unforgiving minute

With sixty seconds' worth of distance run,

Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,

And--which is more--you'll be a Man, my son!

travel
Like

About the Creator

Ahron

The blog is to helping you live an active and healthy lifestyle!

Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrglZ6wWRNyjrtxtcCSTu9w

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.