Journal logo

Unfinished Manuscripts

The Unwritten Book

By Marilyn ColemanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Unfinished Manuscripts
Photo by Istiqamatunnisak on Unsplash

For as long as I can remember, I've always wanted to write a book. My first cousin Sherry, who lived next door, and I used to get the newspaper and find a comic strip that interested us and continue the story we wanted. After a while, we had almost written a book together. Unfortunately for me, I never saw those pages again after the age of 15. We'd check every week to see if the stories were close or far off. Our stories had a tendency to be a little more risque! I mean, how risque can a couple 13 year old's be?

We'd often write other stories, mostly love and romance. After reaching high school, it kind of fell away for me, she continued. Even though, she never published any of them. Sadly, she passed away 5 years ago and I never asked her about the manuscripts, I never really thought about them again.

When my kids were young, I borrowed a computer my brother-in-law who wasn't using it at the time, to start a manuscript. Trying to do research with small kids running around, is crazy. And of course, it was the first manuscript is left unfinished. Life got in the way as well as a divorce.

Life went on and 27 years later, I became a truck driver. There are plenty of people suggesting that I write about being a female truck driver out on the road. Really, I didn't find it that interesting to do, I mean who would read it? During my travels, I met a man that I fell for and we continued to travel/work for 5 years together. He became my muse. I was so excited working with him on this book. I passed ideas by him and he would give me his opinion. Until one day, he wasn't there anymore. We ended our relationship, badly, and I never talked to him again. I have not found anyone else to fill the void. We worked well together. Now, I find that I am unable to continue. I created The Big Blue Book, that I placed all my outlines for different stories in. If I started one and it is at least 10 pages, it is placed in a vanilla envelope and filed away. Maybe, when I retire, it will give me something to look forward to completing.

I will eventually get to them. Maybe.

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.