Journal logo

Ultimate Gift

the right place at the right time

By Teresa UlianytskaPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Leaving the office building, the girl took a long look back at it, and her dream, which seemed to be getting farther and farther. Another refusal. Another NO. It was the fifth time this month already, that her potential investors refused to fund her project. Emma could not understand why. How could they be so oblivious and not see all the possibilities, that come with her idea? And she didn’t ask for that much, to be honest, only 20 grand. No job, no money, but full of ambition. Just like her dad. Speak of the devil. The phone rang.

“Hey, dad.”

“Hey, sweetie. So how did it go?”

“It didn’t go at all. They were all excited, but nothing past that. You see, they are not convinced that my product will blow up the current market and all that. I’m tired. Maybe this project does sound so cool only for me?”

“Emma, listen to me. Let me…”

“Let me stop you right there. Dad, I told you, I won’t take money from you. Thank you so much, but I want to achieve this myself.”

“So stubborn, just like your Mum.”

“I know. That’s why you fell in love with her.”

“That is true. Don’t be upset, sweetie. It will all come when the time is due. Talent alone is not everything.”

“Then what is?”

“To be in the right place at the right time.”

“Well… it’s not about me.”

“Listen, just take a walk, clear your head, just relax, you know, you’ve earned it.”

“I think that’s exactly what I need to do. There’s a lovely park nearby, I‘ll head there.”

“Splendid idea. Take care and keep your chin up, girl.”

“Oh, I will.”

She put her phone away in her coat, looked around once more, and headed straight for the park nearby. Emma grabbed a cup of coffee and a freshly-baked croissant and found an empty bench. After putting all her stuff aside and sitting comfortably, she took a sip of coffee. Finally. That hit the spot. She could feel the hot beverage’s energy spreading inside her body, keeping her cold hands warm at the same time.

Even though technically it was March, the streets were still chilly and windy. Looking around the park, Emma noticed that it was almost empty. But there was one woman in front of her, though, who was constantly writing something in some small black notebook. Emma kept sipping her coffee and looked closer at the stranger in front of her. And suddenly that woman looked up and looked straight at the girl. She felt somewhat uncomfortable, but only for a tiny moment, for the strange lady smiled at her brightly. Emma smiled back and started chewing her croissant. But the lady slowly stood up and approached her.

“May I?”

The woman stood in front of Emma. She looked very stylish. Her clothes and manners told her that she was not from a “simple” crowd.

“Of course.” Emma looked around and noticed a few empty benches nearby, however, this lady insisted on sitting exactly with her.

“Thank you, young lady. You are probably wondering, why am I here when there are other places in the park to be seated.”

“No, of course not.”

“That’s very kind of you, but you seem to feel down about something. That is why I approached you.”

“Umm, thanks.” Emma felt awkward. “You see, I... It’s just not the best day today. Everything went wrong. Again. I sometimes feel doomed to fail. But my dad... He believes in me, in my talent and my ideas.”

“And that is a lot. That is how it should be. For if you are to reach the success you require only two things, and they are believing in yourself, and being believed in by others. Your father has faith in you, his daughter, in your talent, has faith that you are capable of reaching that which you seek. And you?”

“Me?”

“Do you believe in yourself?”

“Ohh, well, yes.”

“That did not sound convincing. Shove away all the hesitation and say it again.”

“I believe in myself, I believe that I can do it!”

“See. You have all it takes to make it real. You are doomed to succeed.”

Emma started laughing. Her tiredness was no more. Where did all her sadness and desperation go?

“Thank you so much. I don’t even know what to say. Your words... They are like magic. I feel everything is going to be better.” Stranger politely smiled. “I am sorry, it’s embarrassing, I don’t even know your name.”

“Eleonora.”

“Such a beautiful name. Mine is Emma.”

Eleonora looked at her watch and slowly stood up.

“You’re leaving already?”

“Indeed I am. I have some task to attend, I’ve been enjoying your company far too much I am afraid.”

“I’m sorry, It’s kind of my fault. I talked too long about my problems.”

“Oh, leave it. I had a great pleasure talking to a wise and bright young lady such as yourself. You take care now.”

“Thank you again. Goodbye.”

Emma followed the stranger with her eyes. It was all so unusual and weird. This lady was unusual. Truly mysterious. Finishing her already cold coffee, Emma grabbed her phone and started scrolling through Instagram. Another thirty minutes went by. The girl started feeling cold. It was a reminder that she should probably go home, enough sitting here. Emma stood up, gathered her things, and already started leaving, but then she noticed the little black book, that Eleonora carried around was on the bench.

She didn’t hesitate and took it. It turned out it was a notebook with a great many notes in it, and it looked more like a diary. How could Eleonora forget it? She’s going to need it back. But how? Emma started going through pages, and one very first one she saw writing “Today is your chance for a better tomorrow!” Emma smiled. Maybe it’s a prophecy? Emma sat back on the bench and went through every page, trying to find at least some information about the notebook’s owner. There were only blank pages. Not giving up, the girl went through everything again. Eurica. The last page had some number and a name is written on it having no idea who this Robert was, she called him without hesitation.

Half an hour later she was already at the place, that Robert told her. A man opened the door. He was older than Eleonora, Emma reckoned he was about her father’s age, but just like Eleonora, he was also well-dressed and polite.

“Hello. Robert?” A man nodded. “I called you earlier.”

“Come in, young lady. Don’t stand in the door.”

“It’s no big deal, I just wanted to give the notebook back, that’s all. I already explained everything to you over the phone. But don’t you worry, I didn’t read anything in it, you can tell Eleonora that.”

“Well, you can deliver all these words yourself. She is on her way home. So, no need to be shy. Come in, we’ll have some tea or coffee, or would you rather prefer something stronger?”

“Let’s have some tea, then.”

“Remarkable. Have a seat and feel yourself at home. And don’t feel bad about the notebook. I am sure it is just some of Ellen’s ideas for her next book.”

“I’m sorry, who is she to you?”

“Ellen is my beloved wife.”

“Wow. I thought you were a friend or something.”

“A husband and a friend. Two in one.”

“And what do you do, sweet child?”

“Oh, it’s a long story.”

“I think we have plenty of time and I’m such a curious person.”

“Very well, then, tea is not going to be enough, I think.”

Robert laughed.

*

“Dad, you won’t believe what just happened.”

“What happened, sweetie?”

“I just found a sponsor for my startup. Can you imagine, it happened by accident. I just went to give back a notebook someone had forgotten. Eleonora accidentally forgot it in the park. It’s a miracle. You know, you were right, it was all about being in the right place at the right time.”

“Hold on, girl, I don’t get it. What sponsor. What accident and who is this Eleonora?”

“Anyway, dad, I’ll come to you tomorrow and tell you every detail. Trust me, you’ll love it. A story that’s worth a million bucks, or twenty thousand to be precise.”

*

It was a special day. It is already a year since her startup hit the market... And is profitable at that. Emma jumped out of the bed, took a contrast shower, and went to a kitchen to make herself some fresh coffee. A few minutes later it was done, the girl poured it in a cup and landed on a cozy sofa, and started remembering how it all started. She remembered that day like it was yesterday, for it was the day that changed everything.

Who could have thought, that Eleonora left her notebook with Emma for a reason, leaving her husband’s number in there and knowing that the girl will try returning it? And Eneonora’s husband turned out to be a businessman, with a knack for investment, and was scanning the turf for some new projects, that were worthy of his money. And it was an excellent Eleonora’s plan.

Emma’s flow of memories was ended by a doorbell. She approached the door and saw a courier with a bouquet and wrapped box. A few minutes later she placed the fragrant flowers in a vase and then opened the little box. There was a note and a small gift inside.

“My dear,

Congratulations on your small anniversary. I know it’s only the beginning.

Your dad.”

P.S. Today is your chance for a better tomorrow!

Emma put the little note aside and started remembering where she could read or hear that phrase, it was so familiar. She thought a little more to no avail and started unpacking the present. It was a book. Eleonora’s new book. Emma impatiently opened it and found an author’s note. It was her handwriting.

“My dear young lady, as I have said earlier, you were doomed to succeed. I am so delighted to hear that you are doing well. I shall be waiting to have a cup of coffee with you someday and to hear all your thoughts on my new creation.

Ellen.”

P.S. Today is your chance for a better tomorrow!

Emma put the book away and took the note from her dad, read it again, and froze.

Today is your chance for a better tomorrow!

Dad and Eleonora... Do they know each other?! Dad probably knew Robert too. It was all planned out. It could not be a coincidence. Emma quickly looked at the notes again and had no more doubt. She grabbed her phone and called her father.

“Hey, sweetie.”

“Dad, I got your gift.”

There was silence.

“I’m sorry, girl. I just wanted to help you. I knew you just needed a little push. And you were dead set against me helping you, so I had to improvise a little. And now, I think it’s time to tell you everything, I don’t want any secrets between us. Eleonora and Robert are my old friends, I knew I could count on them. But I want you to know that Robert decided to invest in your project himself. He believed in you just like I did all this time... So my part in this play was small. You just needed to get in touch with the right person. Forgive me, please.”

“Dad, I love you. Thank you so, so much. Don’t plan anything for tomorrow, I’ll come to you and we’ll celebrate.”

“What do you think about inviting Eleonora and Robert?”

“Awesome idea. I love it. See you tomorrow.”

Emma put her phone away, landed on a couch, and started reading Eleonora’s book to share all the thoughts about it with her tomorrow.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.