Journal logo

Trailing that painting

In the last sight she bought the canvas

By Kathy ReedPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Rose Frankensmith by Kathy Reed

Date: 11/25/2020

Written By: Kathy Reed

Trailing that painting

In the last sight she bought the canvas, what do they see

I thought that I was doing a justice by making the money that I could. Sometimes when I would sell paintings I would sell myself and that would be alot to people. They would give me a million dollars on the spot if they could to support me for painting. The only problem was I was lying. I was a painter, but the last canvas I bought the acrylic turned to elmer's paste and the canvas was cheap along with the easel. So when I saw another lady looking at her shopping cart full of canvas and paints I thought she wonders too if I am a painter, no, how could she, I have three things, so with that I need to get better. So I have made a pallet of colors, range is the mesh. Think one in four million unless MTV does a special on me only, I'm like one in four million.

Thought of not wanting to share, man, geez

I think that I am the only one that does things. When I am doing something, it's like there are no training wills and so you have to have so much might on your own, right. But when my fellow lady asks me about art, I am like, do you draw, too? They do. So we share art. I think, what I think and they think what they think. I am thinking that I am not wanting to share the fame. So I weigh in on their odds of life. I turn my page in my business plan book. As I rotate the painting that I am selling, but no audience so only drawing a you made that, did you sign it? Who do you see and tell, that too. The soul doesn't understand that the world around you is so pastel.

By Erin Blakemore

Who dropped me off, because shit she is a bitch

I think that back when I was young, I never looked back from the walls of my Barbie dolls to see who the audience was enough though. So selling art has to become a constant, who are you, dance it. Most people are into it though, as if I have a choice, that is all I know. If painting, photography, art in general didn't exist, we would all just be gorillas eating TB. So I imagine a empty white room full of pretty gorillas wearing make up and eye shadow and some with tailor suits to butler the champagne around a room full of splashed paint and paint art easels. Because the world is too gray. I think this or a mask party with lingerie would satisfy the point of the greatest painting I control, but relaying this to the suit is often unsettling. So I continue to splash paint in her face.

What I think, you are right

So I sat once and absorbed everything. It has all to do with age. We thank the stars for one more day as we sigh one more day. But you have to repeat isn't that what you want to the buyer. You want to buddy about with canvas and boards, yet you are ready to give it all away due to the realm of tiresome economics of what kind of sales person I am. Who is the suit you or me? Man and suit... yet who ever did rock art and the suit well together anyway. Numbers, are the key to the middle ground. So remember that high numbers are nice, but you are nice so, ask for a high number just nicely. The painting leaves underling that you are the artist not the customer.

Oilpainting by BingBing Huang

What music played in the background, that you are ok with

Do you still dance? Although, I am older, I think of the time, when I could not stop the motion of dance. I think that without music I would have been not able to spell my name let alone be it in dance. But in the game you have to continue to grow and that takes time away from the things that you love. So remember best that it only takes a few minutes to be you anyway, so don't mind your day job if you have one like me, because selling art is like selling gum. Just remember, that art is or has to be as valuable as Picasso one day, so keep going with your best, man or woman sales pitch.

Who did you remember, what did you take from it.

I think that I remember only good because that is the only lane that I will walk with art. So as I carry the things that make me see a lighter realm, I will remember the tools that it takes to save for the things that I hold dear to me which is painting and writing and art. Will you? Do you have things that you will stop at no other thing be to be. Whether you sell like hell or flake like hell.

Sources:https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/heres-most-expensive-painting-ever-sold-180954184/; https://opainting.en.ec21.com/Supply_Wharf_View_Pepole_Oil--6503818_6581917.html, google.com, bing.com

Photos by: Kathy Reed, Erin Blakemore, BingBing Huang

Written by: Kathy Reed

art
Like

About the Creator

Kathy Reed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.