Journal logo

To My Soulmate

For my husband

By Danielle CarterPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
1

Forever isn't long enough,

but it'll have to do,

Eternity flies by in seconds,

When I'm spending time with you.

If it seems that I get clingy,

Just try to remember why,

Forever isn't long enough,

When you're by my side.

These three words are said a lot,

But mine always ring true,

They always come from my heart,

When I'm saying them to you,

What I feel is indescribable,

I'm sure you understand,

Because I know you feel the same,

When we're standing hand in hand.

Sometimes things go smoothly,

But sometimes things get rough,

But I know we'll make it through,

Because even though forever's long...

Forever isn't long enough.

Your hugs, kisses, and love get me through each day,

they heal me from trauma that never went away.

You look at me and see light and beauty where I see flaws and scars and pain.

You look me in the eyes, kiss my nose and it all melts away.

From goodnight kisses to sunrise mornings, being next to you is so comforting.

You deserve the world and that's what I'll strive to do, because you make me happier than I feel like I could ever make you.

From fake arguments to cuddling time, to driving around with your hand in mine.

No second is boring when I'm with you. Five ever will never be long enough because the love I have for you.

The moon, stars, and universe brought us back to be, two broken people came together to set eachother free.

I love you!

Please never leave me.

I wake up with you by my side,

Fall asleep next to you every night,

Hear your sleepy moans in the morning,

At night your arms are around me tight,

From night to morning,

Morning to night,

Being with you feels right,

You came into my life again,

After years and years, an old friend,

You took me in and held me close,

Took away the things I feared the most,

I was broken, You were too,

Together we found eachother to start anew,

The shattered pieces of our lives before,

The broken promises, fights, and slamming doors,

The losses we felt and still greive today,

The unimaginable pain that never goes away,

You let me in, As I did you,

I've helped you, and you helped me too,

Before you, I wanted to die,

I wanted to leave this world, this pain, this life,

I wanted to be gone, feel peace, feel nothing,

Until you came in and showed me something,

For the first time since in forever,

I felt real love, real support, things that I had never,

In a way, you took the razor from my hand,

Cleaned my blood before it could land,

Lifted me from the shadows, from the ground,

Flipped on the lights, and turned me around,

You took me from my darkest nights,

My darkest thoughts, my hardest fights,

You brought in sunlight, rain, and care,

You started growing a garden that used to be so bare,

I was desert when you found me,

Little by little, I started to grow, you see,

You brought me back to life,

and for that, I can't thank you enough,

I love you each and every day,

You make my battles seem not so tough,

So, to my husband, my life, my soul,

I'll do everything I can to step into this role,

To be the wife you deserve, to be the partner you need,

To be the good to the bad, to be the lock to your key,

To be the light in the darkness, The smiles through pain,

I'll always be here to hold you close and say, "it'll all be okay."

So, to my husband, with so much love,

Thank you for every thing,

And for not giving up.

humanityHumanity
1

About the Creator

Danielle Carter

A girl with too much clutter in her brain and no place to put it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.