Journal logo

This Ride Called Being a Published Author.

From simply wanting to achieve a dream to winning an award.

By Lisa Jacovsky Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
This is a picture of my gold book award

Wanting to be an author

I have wanted to write a book since I was seven years old. I used to write short stories and dream about what it would be like to publish them. I am also an avid reader; I love losing myself in a good book. I always wondered if that is something that I could do one day.

Getting into the book publishing business or journalism can be so difficult and daunting. I took a journalism course in high school and wrote for the school newspaper. I loved it and flirted with the idea of majoring in journalism. I decided not to because I was worried it would be too unstable and that I would not be able to make a good career. Well, I have learned that no dream is too small, and you can make anything happen.

The start of this crazy ride being a published author.

In 2018 I decided to write a children’s book. I was not sure if it would make me money, be a bestseller or make me a known author and writer. I just knew it was something I had to do no matter the turn out. I decided to write a children’s book and it was the scariest and best thing I could have done.

When you have that feeling of just knowing this is right, this is something you must do you cannot be stopped. That is how I felt when I decided to write my first children’s book. It is the way I feel each time I sit down to work on another installment. I am thankful for that feeling because it pushed me to move past my nerves and make a dream come true.

This ride called being a published author.

It has really been a crazy ride from the minute I decided to write the book to today when I opened my email to find my very first book ever had won an actual award. I told only one person I even wanted to write this book until the day I got offers. None of my friends knew I liked to write but an old friend from high school. The outpour of support I have received has made this whole experience even more incredible. On top of It I found this amazing writing community full of support, tips, and ideas and willing to possibly read my book. And lots of new books I could read and hold onto for work. It has opened this whole new world for me that has been amazing and fun.

Then today, April 2, 2021, for the first time, I received an award for my book. My work was not just recognized by my family, friends, fellow authors, and amazing families with little ones with Autism now. It was recognized on another level. I am not someone with any form training in writing, no MFA or any of that. I am someone who enjoys writing, enjoys telling a story and really set out to make a difference in this world. To receive an honor such as an award recognizing the quality of my work and story has been one of the highlights of this experience.

Sure, I was excited.

To say I was excited was an understatement. I was at work when I got the email, and it was difficult to focus but thankfully I have amazing clients. I text everyone I knew and then when I got off work finally sent them screen shot pictures. I was almost jumping up and down with excitement, the adrenaline was crazy with how happy I was. I really wanted to scream and yell but I think my neighbors would not have liked that. But I did hug my cats and quietly scream to get all of that out.

I never thought I would be in this place I am in my career as an author and writer. I am so grateful for this award because it also means more families will be impacted positively. That is the reason I wrote my book series was to really make a difference. To have it be recognized is just icing on the cake. Cheers to continuing to make a positive change while always making sure any dream comes true.

literature
1

About the Creator

Lisa Jacovsky

Author of the award winning series Lets Talk! and podcast host of No Limits with lisa jacovsky

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.