Journal logo

This one old journaling practice has changed my life!

How keeping an analog commonplace book has preserved my ability to think creatively in an ever-distracting digital world.

By S.N. EvansPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
This one old journaling practice has changed my life!
Photo by Hannah Olinger on Unsplash

What is a commonplace book? Oxford Languages defines a commonplace book as "a book into which notable extracts from other works are copied for personal use." I first heard of it as a kid reading about a character who kept one. I'm not certain which book exactly, but I'm pretty sure it had something to do with Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events and the V.F.D. And I am enjoying a hit of nostalgia while writing and researching, locating the quote I remember from his novel, "Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography."

"You may want to keep a commonplace book which is a notebook where you can copy parts of books you think are in code, or take notes on a series of events you may have observed that are suspicious, unfortunate, or very dull. Keep your commonplace book in a safe place, such as underneath your bed, or at a nearby dairy." ― Lemony Snicket, Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography.

Usually, a commonplace book is full of quick references to frequently used knowledge. For example, someone who does a lot of experimental baking might keep their previous recipes with notes on what went wrong beside them or ratios of measurements. A writer might save drafts of articles they are working on, writing rules they find difficult to remember, and even quotes from books they have read.

The possibilities are endless; a notebook and pen are all required. I use Field Notes notebooks and a trusty fountain pen for portability.

By Scott Graham on Unsplash

But I digress; I am here to explain how I have utilized this old tool, not about the tools I use.

I use my commonplace book a little differently than my predecessors. I do not write down only quotes or references. Instead, I have adapted it to trap creative ideas by intersecting and understanding my interests. I am interested in: movies, shows, video games, writing, reading, drawing, and painting. I'm sure there are other interests, but I cannot think of more now.

I use my commonplace book to link those interests to my opinions and ideas. I also take time, as my mind wanders, to review and reflect on why I enjoy pieces of the media I consume, how they were effective/ineffective and how they can be applied/not applied to my various arts.

For example, I may play a video game and find that I like it. First, I will read the review I have written and ruminate why; once I determine why (usually some theme or element), I will consider how that idea or technique can be applied to my other disciplines.

At the end of a writing session, I have thumbnails of sketches, scenes, and character explanations. I have lists of different elements and styles. Finally, I have how I plan on applying them.

I find it interesting to note how my mind tracks and skips from topic to topic, spilling across the page. It makes me curious about how other people's minds reason and track. It makes me wish everyone took up this practice again. So many of our ancestors have in the past.

I would especially like to see the inner workings of those closest to me. Those who are no longer present for me to seek wisdom from my grandparents or great-grandparents to catch a glimpse of the world in which they lived. People my family still tells vivid stories of.

I am keeping a commonplace book, a remnant of my life that will someday pass on to my children. I pray they find it as fascinating as I have, and if anything, I look forward to them inheriting their weird mother's journals.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you enjoy this article favorite, leave me a tip, follow me or share my work on your socials! I appreciate any support you give!

God Bless!

advicehow toworkflow

About the Creator

S.N. Evans

Christian, Writer of Fiction and Fantasy; human. I have been turning Caffeine into Words since 2007. If you enjoy my work, please consider liking, following, reposting on Social Media, or tipping. <3

God Bless!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    S.N. EvansWritten by S.N. Evans

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.