Journal logo

This Month, I Am Going to Create Without Fear

You should too

By Abena Talks Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
This Month, I Am Going to Create Without Fear
Photo by Hudson Hintze on Unsplash

One thing that holds me back is fear. It stifles my creativity and prevents me from going all out and going all in. I am tired of the fear, I am ready to create without fear.

Last month, I went all in with Medium and wrote 400 shortform articles, I am ready to create without inhibitions and without thinking and overthinking. Without focusing on other people's opinions, I am tired of feeling like I am living for other people. Instead of living, just existing. I don't need or want it anymore.

I am ready to create without fear. Here is how I am going to do it.

No More Hesitation

Adulthood makes you think about every move you make, every decision and every little step you take. The truth is, adulthood has stifled my creativity, I am tired of feeling like this.

No hesitation.

I have all these ideas in my head, bubbling to the surface every minute. I hardly sleep, I just want to get things done but sometimes I think of other people's opinions. People that achieve great things act, they don't think too much. They just take steps, they take action. They push boundaries, they don't think too much.

This month is no hesitation month. This month is let it all out month. This month, I am going to show myself shamelessly without all the fear that often surrounds me and stifles me.

No hesitation.

Forget Perfection and Just Do it

Perfectionism is toxic. Yes, artists like Beyonce and Michael Jackson are true examples of perfectionists however, at some point, you have to stop analysing every detail and just get on with it.

"Perfectionism and procrastination have such a fine line. You say, 'Well, I want it to be good. I want it to be perfect.' But what you're really doing is not doing your work. You're putting off showing up and being visible because then you're going to be judged, and it might suck." -Jen Sincero

Fear will leave you tired, cold and alone. Especially if you spend your days worrying about judgement and worrying about other people. Just stop.

I am throwing perfectionism out of the window. I have so many ideas and only one of them has actually materialised over the years. The rest, I have hidden under a thick, dark blanket of fear. I am ready to throw that thick, dark blanket in the trash. I am done.

Create Messy Poems

I am a poet. I don't talk about it much. I stick to the non-fiction stuff because then people think I'm academic and focused. I am using my degree in some way when I write about social issues, business and current affairs. I am ready to write some messy poems.

Drink Coffee and Write

Drink coffee and produce content in the early hours of the morning when no one is there to stop me. When the sun is about to rise and the birds are still silent. When the sticky heat of Accra city is still hanging in the air but not quite there yet. When the cool breeze whistles outside my window.

Create Visual Art

I was afraid. I started creating visual art and I stopped. Why? Because of fear, once again, fear. The fear of people asking me why I am doing visual art when I studied Politics. Why I am doing visual art when I am a writer. It scares me to just create without fear, boundless creation. But, I am ready.

I am ready to face this 100 article challenge that I am doing right here on Vocal Media. I am ready to write poems, create visual art, release all the pain, fear, sadness and everything else in between. I am ready.

Are you ready?

art
Like

About the Creator

Abena Talks

I write about lifestyle, entrepreneurship and other things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.