Journal logo

The Wendigo Possession

A Glance Inside of The Series

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My passion for writing began at a very young age. Growing up in a disfunctional and often abusive home, writing provided an escape for me. I would secretly keep journals and diaries. I use the word "secretly" because I wasn't allowed to have them. While I was away at school my mother would search my room; if she found my journals she would read them and then I'd be punished for what I had written in them. I actually hid my journals beneath floorboards and in the ceiling to prevent her from finding them.

When I started High School, I utilized typing class for my writing. While the other students were doing their given assignments I was sitting in the back of the room typing away at stories that would never be read.

In the year 2000, I submitted a ghost story to The Haunted South Magazine contest. To my surprise, I actually won the contest and my story was published on their website during the month of September. I was so proud, I tried to tell my family about my accomplishment but I was quickly shut down. I was told that people from small towns could never achieve anything spectacular. I was a nobody, unknown; just a small-town girl with ridiculous dreams. I was even told that I had made a fool out of myself. My mother-in-law actually called me a witch. (because my story was supernatural)

I was raising two small children, I gave up on my dreams to protect them from any negativity that I might attract. Ugly rumors tend to spread fast in a small town.

Well, my kids are both grown men now, so I decided to go back and revisit my dormant dreams of becoming a writer. While publishing here on Vocal I was contacted by a wonderful lady named Marie Montgomery. She had read my writing and invited me to submit content to her publishing company for consideration. From there my very first book was published on May 31, 2021.

The Wendigo Possession sold 219 ebook copies during the first month. It is also available in paperback which sold several copies as well. I was so excited, my dream had come true and I had accomplished what I was told I could never do. The book done so well that I was asked to follow up with a sequel, which I am finishing and is available for pre-order.

3:15: The Wendigo Possession II will be the second addition to a growing series.

The Wendigo Possession is a short prequel that introduces the reader to the legend of the Wendigo and through Lea's story explains just how horrid and dangerous that the entity can be. Part 2 (3:15) opens the gate of Hell and releases the true bloody, terrifying nature of the Wendigo. I'm super excited for its release later this month and I hope that you will be too! I feel like it's a real treat for horror - supernatural fans.

Although I will never be famous, I have made my (impossible) dream a reality and that is all that I ever truly wanted to achieve.

You can also find a short story "The Sons of Nam" that I wrote in honor of my father. and "Strawberry Lipstick - A Bad Boy Romance" which is categorized as erotica and really packs some heat. It's a fast and furious romance between Anna, the local detective's daughter, and a handsome car booster named Draven. If you like rare sports cars, fast action, and forbidden romance, this book will hook you.

Below you can preview the first installment of The Wendigo Possession. If you enjoy it I truly hope that you'll consider reading the entire book and maybe even sign up for the pre-order of part 2.

All of my books are available on Amazon.

Rakuten Kobo

and LuLu

In addition, I also have a website that is updated almost daily.

and you can find me on Instagram and Twitter.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story here on Vocal. Your love and support mean the world to me. Although I am not asking for handouts, I would certainly appreciate a heart if you have the time. I always take time to return the favor.

Stay safe, Be happy, and Read on!

book review
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.