Journal logo

The Voice

Discovering the Vocal Creators' Lounge; and Finding My Voice.

By Kent BrindleyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
14
The Voice
Photo by Adam Solomon on Unsplash

I joined the Vocal Community right around the end of 2020 (I think it was November/December).

From there, I posted here and there; maybe urged on by a "Challenge" or Several.

I was either writing something tongue-in-cheek about music or a fictional dream sequence/"Bachelor"-segment; or I was being real and writing an open letter to a late grandmother or outgoing president. Other times, I wrote about my home town, or introduced myself, or wrote about thrift store adventures.

I'm a fiction author by art form and am still working on the narrative voice for anything else.

Anyway, I had a "Vocal" membership and decided to USE it (again, usually, if a "Challenge" that caught my fancy came along). By some point before the start of April, I had about 12 different posts; and was floundering at around 150-some odd reads/hearts.

I was attempting to share most of my content with my Facebook friends (and, on occasion, I copied the correct link to the actual post). However, at best, I had a single post with 30-some reads (I guess people liked my "Singles Awareness Day Setlist"); and about 5-6 posts with 0-5 reads. (It's a lot like posting when I release a new Self-Published Work. After my third novel, people to this day demand to know how many books I have and, to their shock-and-awe, I answer about 12-13. The conversation ends with me saying "...They're either up on Amazon; or for your convenience, I have BOX LOADS of them just begging to be signed and shipped off to a new home...")

Again, the conversation ends THERE and, for all that I know, they went to Amazon (for friends and family, I'm willing to give the benefit of the doubt).

By Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I've lost track of where I was going here and this was about my "Vocal..." experience.

I needed a GIMMICK to make a Vocal Membership cost effective (and, as a sensitive artist from the writing standpoint, to flex my own ego and self-worth connected to my art).

I discovered the "Vocal Creators Lounge" and a core group of individuals boldly sharing their works with the world and asking for reads/"hearts"/comments. How COULD I say "no, thanks; but while we're here, I wanna talk about MINE!"?

Soon, I was not only receiving real reads and honest feedback from people just like myself; I, in turn, found a lot more entertaining reading material to pass my own time. This is a TALENTED social circle of writers here with some great works to share and I thank you all for sharing them with me, along with supporting my own craft.

By Jeremy McGilvrey on Unsplash

By Guillermo Latorre on Unsplash

By now, I'm at 227 reads, and 75 in the last 30 days, almost 5 days after finding the "Vocal Creators Lounge," daring to share my content (in return for paying it forward/back with some brand new reading material to peruse and enjoy), and learning to put myself out there as a writer again.

I want to thank the "Vocal Creators Lounge" community for truly helping me to find my voice again, to discover a new audience, and the encouragement to keep the writing dream ALIVE.

Cheers/Salut/Write-On/What-have-you.

By Yutacar on Unsplash

See you all again soon...

social media
14

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.