Journal logo

The Steel Bull Statue

The Steel Bull Statue

By Tanea HillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am reminded every day that life is full of gambles. The trademark statue of a steel copper bull in the Financial District, always pushes me back into reality about why working is a privilege. The privilege of being a boutique worker instead of a average energy representative that goes door to door and get’s signature. Somehow, I had pushed my way into a male dominated area without the full credentials. Every morning I was privileged to pass the steel bull in the financial district and be motivated constantly. I mean, I would wait in long Starbucks lines as if my salary was six figures. And then instead of buying nutritious foods, I would go to Wendy’s for lunch and get a four for four value meal. I had the privilege of wearing nice attires and walking big stone dead end roads with patio covered tables outside. I had the privilege of engaging in book reading, and yogurt eating. Of course, I was not the six figure bread winner who worked on wall street, but I still passed the steel bull like everyone else. The first time I encountered the steel bull statue, I attended a hyped up meeting with 30 other attendees. The session lasted for two hours with tons of open interviews regarding energy door to door sales and sign up procedures.

My first assignment was crazy!! Me and another employee were assigned to a few streets in East New York. Shortly after I entered the building and began knocking at doors, a queasy feeling came over me. I immediately resigned, but I did not give up on the financial district. The next day I applied at a boutique in the financial district and was given a whole different perspective on working in the area.

During the summers, I loved going into the circle and sitting near the steel bull statues. Fresh smells of spring water from flower pots and water fountains was part of my memory. Barbecue smells and food trucks in various corners of the district were always enjoyable.

During the winters, the cool air from the river flattened the temperatures to the negatives, sometimes making the journey to work brutally cold.

Every since the Covid 19 pandemic, I have tried to keep my faith about working. Especially after so many boutique and other store closures that have occurred. The steel bull that motivated and encouraged me to work, now is a reinforcement of how fast the working world can collapse.

When I pass the steel bull statue in the Financial District these days, I hear silence, with no running clocks, and no running water fountains. Signs of business closures, plastered around train stations. I see pigeon birds that once ate plentiful bread, are now flocking and harping together for crumbs. Gloomy weathers, with clean harbors and curbside deliveries with limited hours, just to pay the rent.

When I see the steel bull statue, I now think about the unemployment office taking the accountability for the working and the non working. Assisting those who worked and assisting the unemployed.

The steel bull statue now praises frontline workers who put their life on the line every single day.

The steel bull statue, emphasizes the importance of healthcare workers, hospitals workers, doctors, and food employees.

The steel bull statue no longer honors fame and fortune. Now high paid sports players are sent to practice every night until they are able to return to the field.

Musicians rehearse and become better music writers than performers, until in person concerts start again.

The steel bull statue makes fashion designers better pattern makers until fashion shows are allowed again.

The steel bull statue now represents the turn of the world, where communications and meetings are conducted online.

Now when I see the steel bull statue, I understand the privilege of working that everyone once had.

economy
Like

About the Creator

Tanea Hill

http

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.