Journal logo

The Introduction

2023 January 28

By LexPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Image by KamranAydinov on Freepik

Hello everyone,

My name is Lex. I joined Vocal+ back in August of 2019. I joined with the intention of contributing to the website, but mainly ended up just enjoying the work of other writers. I typically prefer observing the world around me rather than engaging with it. I’ve been wanting to write for a very long time, however, I felt I was always too busy or distracted with work or school. Thankfully, I graduated! I finished up my bachelor’s in 2020 and recently obtained my MBA. So, in my mind I have completed everything there is in terms of higher education. Even though I would love to continue school and earn my PhD, I feel it’s time to focus on myself for a change. I want to write about topics I find interesting and interact with others who feel the same.

A little bit about me.

I am an American who is currently living in Australia. I have many stories I would like to share about my experiences in the country and other places we have visited throughout the Pacific. I would also love to connect with others who are living or have lived abroad, so I can read about their experiences as well. I have been married to my wonderful wife for almost 5 years. Over the following months I plan on writing about a variety of topics, such as what it’s like being married, culture shock, comparisons between different countries, maybe some life hacks I have learned, and anything else that may come to mind. I am considering contributing to a variety of platforms. I have chosen Vocal to essentially be my daily dairy. I want my work on this platform to be more raw, uncut, and spontaneous. I also plan to contribute to Medium. Those articles will be more organized, polished, and not published as often. I would also consider contributing to other types of blogs if the fit is right. If you have a blog and are in need of writers, let me know!

I have many different hobbies that I dabble in from time to time, so you can expect stories revolving around video games, music, stargazing, hiking, city life, art, interactions, and perhaps maybe even some side hustles. I had an idea where I could include pictures within my articles that would provide a more visual element to my articles. The other day I realized I have an old pair of Snapchat Spectacles and figured that might just be the perfect method for accomplishing this. I of course also plan on using my iPhone in certain situations, but felt the Spectacles might give an interesting perspective since they shoot in a first person viewing mode.

There are potentially some drastic changes that are going to occur in our lives very soon, so I also feel it will be beneficial to document those upcoming events. A long-term dream of mine has always been to take a job teaching English overseas. My wife and I are considering doing this somewhere in Asia. However, this may be up to a year away. I have attempted to research this topic many times. Unfortunately, I feel there are not many high quality sources out there. The vast majority of content creators who specialize in this area tend to focus on their personal lives and recreational activities rather than the details of the job itself. Therefore, I would love to take a year or two and learn as much as I can about ESL so I can create my own helpful content for those who may be intimidated about the process. Nonetheless, I haven’t completely decided exactly what I will be writing about, but these are ideas I have been throwing around in my head. If this content seems like something that may interest you, please consider subscribing. I would love to meet and interact with everyone. Thank you for reading! Hopefully I will talk to you soon!

-Lex

career
Like

About the Creator

Lex

My daily diary about living abroad, work, marriage, and other topics I may find fascinating.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.