Journal logo

The Game of Life

A journal reflection on loss

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 years ago • 3 min read
Like
The Game of Life
Photo by Randy Fath on Unsplash

I have a little bit of a board game obsession. It stems back from my childhood. I used to play a lot of board games with my aunties and uncles. Even throughout the years, when my mom's family celebrated Christmas, we always enjoyed a new board game to play together as a family. One of my favourite games happens to be The Game of Life. During elementary school, we used to play card games at recess. That was important to me back during those elementary school days. We used to play Spoons with markers and pencils. It got violent of course. My elementary school years are what inspired me to write as an adult. Thinking about playing those card games at recess brings me joy because I was always really bad at those games with my classmates.

A key thing that I have noticed while playing games over the years is this: Losing is what keeps you interested in the game. Whatever you end up playing, it's the loss that keeps you interested. At least when you're competing with someone. It's when you start winning the game. You don't appreciate a win until you have experienced a loss. When you are used to winning, you happen to get tired and bored of all the wins. I figured that out the last time I destroyed someone at the game called Uno. I was sick of playing because I was winning the whole entire time. When it is just two players competing in a basic card game like that, it gets tiring very fast. But then my opponent started winning. He had the last laugh and got very excited about winning the final two rounds of the game that we were playing. It was this day and this moment that led me to conclude what I did about winning and losing. You appreciate those wins more once you get to know what loss is.

I know firsthand what loss is. I have experienced losing someone, more than a few people in all honesty. I know most people have. Loss is a part of life. And dealing with the grief of losing anyone, can be really difficult. I told myself, a long time ago that you can grieve people that are still alive, because life changes people in every which way. Sometimes in the best of ways, and sometimes the world can be dark and change our hearts in the worst kinds of way. I know that fact can kind of seems irrelevant when it comes to board games, but after the real loss of one of my favourite uncles with who I happened to enjoy playing board games with a lot, I have made my peace with a lot of people and things that I have lost over the years.

I have made the comparison that The Game of Life, the actual board game, is kind of important and relevant as time goes on during your adult years. Some people are crappy at playing the "real" game of life. Some people just have natural talent and always getting all of those wins. But I mean it when I say, it really is the loss that you experience that really counts for something.

Board games are a piece of my heart believe it or not. I may not be the best at everything, but I can appreciate those wins when I experience them. After a hard losing season, it's about time that Christmas brings me some wins. December is a magical time of the year. After a season of losses, it's about time to appreciate some wins.

Chloe Rose Violet

P.S. Don't forget to tip your writer. :)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.