Journal logo

The Future of my YouTube

EP 06 | That Moment When I Almost Deleted My Channel

By Sophal HengPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Future of my YouTube
Photo by Rachit Tank on Unsplash

Good morning, afternoon, or evening. The greeting will only make sense whenever this post becomes available. Thank you Vocal Media team for your hard work.

This morning will be a different sharing.

I want to talk about the time I almost gave up on my YouTube channel. A channel I have worked on for the past few years but was around since 2011.

There were so many dramas going on that YouTube kept changing their policies to please the cry babies. I was affected by these changes once, but it was devastating. The effects include YouTube demonetizing me since I did not have over 1,000 subscribers, and then a year later, they went on a purge of inactive accounts, which made up of 300 of my subscribers.

Before you say, “If they are inactive, then it is okay.”

Incorrect assumption.

Their definition of inactive accounts include accounts that were created without a channel, do not interact with channels, and do not subscribe to over one channel. Their definition of inactive accounts were not only ‘dead accounts’ but accounts that do not show signs of activities.

I found this out because my husband’s account was one account purged from my subscriber's list.

By purging these accounts, I dropped below the qualified number for the partner program again, so I just lost interest in creating anything for YouTube.

After a few weeks of announcing my hiatus, a few subscribers have contacted me and convinced me I should never delete something I worked hard on. All the videos I created. The audience I gained.

So yeah. It was heartfelt, and I appreciated all their kind words, so I have regrouped and re-plan my content model.

So What is The Plan?

I am working on a few projects outside of the YouTube platform right now. Once I have completed these projects, I will focus on the best content to provide my viewers.

The current topics that I have on my channel include comedy sketch, psychology talk, rebranding, and marketing tips. More topics will be once I have everything situated in my personal life.

Besides the whole demonetized situation, I notice that my channel is still recommended to others by YouTube, so I am not on inappropriate terms with them. The only issue is the subscriber and watch time count.

Should I have focused more on that when I started my channel? Sure.

Do I regret it? No.

Sometimes the best comes with patience.

I had other concerns in my life, and YouTube was not one of them. I just recently started jumping into creating content in 2018 when I needed visuals for my articles. That was when I started catching the attention of viewers and my channel grew.

Slowly but gradually, my life will fall back into place and I will focus on the things interesting to me.

Thinking About Starting a Channel?

That’s great! Start it as a hobby and do not jump into it because it is the most popular thing right now. When you do things because you are interested in it, you will find success.

When you create things and expect instant gratification, you will overwhelm yourself which will become stressful.

Like this post and if I see many people interested in this idea, I will create a new post based on starting your channel and how to sprout it, attract attentions, and where to market yourself based on your niche.

Thanks again for stopping by. This will be my only submitted post for the day since I have a pinched nerve in the shoulder. I’ll take it easy today.

social media
1

About the Creator

Sophal Heng

Welcome to my Vocal Media where I share my daily thoughts and posts that would originally be posted on my website at sophalheng.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.