Journal logo

The Chile Podcast: New Mexico True

An opportunity to share my passions!

By Charleen RicheyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5

There are five passions (hobbies) that I am absolutely crazy about. Writing, food, photography, traveling and doing all of it in New Mexico. My dream job would be to incorporate all of these into one perfectly wrapped up career, where I can share with my fanbase everything I experience; so long as the story somehow incorporates New Mexico, traveling, and food!

New Mexico is so beautifully diverse! Cultures from all over blend in this melding pot. Hispanics, Natives, Germans, Greeks, Italians, Americans, and other various cultures come together influencing the historical, architectural, social, and culinary experiences. The diversity displays in every aspect of living in this breathtaking state.

There are so many phenomenal things to engage in all throughout New Mexico. Everything from experiencing the petroglyphs, to taking one of the longest trams in the world up the Sandia Mountains to the crest. The Unser Museum in Albuquerque is open year around, and people travel from all over to ski Santa Fe. You can relax and camp in various national forests near Taos, or head up to the Jemez Hot Springs. New Mexico is also home to Carlsbad Caverns, White Sands, and other unique gems.

The desert sun sets in oranges, purples, lavenders, and blues on adobe buildings and homes that line, more often than not, dirt roads. Coyotes can often be heard off in the distance and seen around dawn or dusk trotting across streets to find food and water. Unexpectedly, rivers such as the Rio Grande, provide lush, green areas filled with fishing opportunities; not even seeming like desert.

The New Mexican food. Let’s not forget about that! Traveling to various locations in New Mexico, locals find preferences in restaurants that are not franchised. Little “hole in the wall” restaurants such as La Salita (where my husband proposed to me), or a local food truck smoking various meats, are favorites and not readily known to tourists. These culinary artists represent New Mexico’s best foods and are prized. More often than not, food selections include options for red or green chile, a New Mexican “staple”.

Many people love to travel and New Mexico is the perfect “diamond in the rough” ready for discovery. When families plan vacations, it often is missed on the destination map! I want to share with everyone what they are missing out on. There are so many things to do, places to go, things to see and food to eat, I could share this state with a fanbase for the rest of my life and still not cover everything.

Pulling everything together, I will pick a weekly destination. This upcoming weekend, Memorial Day, will be the first official posting of the “New Mexican Chile Podcast!” The family will be heading through Cuba, to the Jemez National Forest.

A few significant elements to my articles and stories will include honesty and humor. I am willing to share with my readers every embarrassing or frustrating circumstance. The stories are also shared directly with the reader so they can (hopefully) feel more inclusive with my experiences. We are all human and not sharing drawbacks along with the benefits, is to not completely share the story. I want the reader to feel as if they were driving up to the same town, sitting down to the same food, and looking at the same sunsets as I am sharing with them through both my writing and photography..

The developing fanbase will have access viewing different destinations, special activities, and local foods making New Mexico truly “The Land of Enchantment”. The reviews and articles will be supported with bright colorful photos of the various experiences. Details and descriptions will be captioned along with each photograph.

This is my chance to share with this world everything New Mexicans hold dear. A chance to bring others into a beautiful and unique culture that continues to influence and flourish in diversity. It is a chance to share what I love doing; writing about travel, foods, and photography. A chance to share the wonders of New Mexico!

travel
5

About the Creator

Charleen Richey

Freelance/ghostwriter. Began writing in the single digits and was blessed with a mom who obtained a degree and career in English. My family is my motivation and inspiration to follow my passion! I look forward to sharing my work with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.