Journal logo

The Best Quotes from Federico Garcia Lorca

Quotes from Federica Garcia Lorca

By Diani AlvarengaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3
Image Credit: https://lithub.com/federico-garcia-lorca-predicted-his-own-death-in-a-poem/

      In a career that lasted just 19 years, Federico Garcia Lorca, a Spanish poet, and playwright (born June 5, 1898, Fuente Vaqueros, Granada province; died August 18 or 19, 1936, between Vznar and Alfacar, Granada region), revived and reinvigorated the most fundamental strains of Spanish poetry and theater. Lorca revealed human nature's darker sides. Throughout his career, themes like desire, love, death, identity, beauty, and artistic production have been prevalent.

      Here are some quotes from Lorca that I liked.

    ”As I have not worried to be born, I do not worry to die.”

    This quote just hit me, also, Lorca predicted his own death. All of us don't have any memory of being in a womb, and it is not that we fear death, but I think that when we think about dying we become scared. We must remind ourselves that we are mortal and that maybe dying is not like being underwater for an eternity. The reason I am afraid of dying is that I think that it will feel like having to hold my breath. However, when we are underwater, our heart is still beating, so what will dying look like, what happens when a heart stops beating? I hope I can still breathe when I am no longer alive. I know that made no sense, but what I mean is, as long as I don’t feel like I’m holding my breath underwater, then I wouldn’t have an issue being dead.

    “We're all curious about what might hurt us.”

    Ever wondered what that relationship would look like if you never left? I've been in that situation, I remember giving my ex in high school a second chance and I can only say things did not get any better, and ending it was the best decision. But what makes us curious about the things that never happened? Maybe we are curious because we want to see if we are strong enough to move forward with the pain.

    “To burn with desire and keep quiet about it is the greatest punishment we can bring on ourselves.”

    How would you feel about keeping your honest feelings to yourself? I think Lorca here was saying that it can be extremely painful to have to keep things bottled up inside you and not be able to open up to anyone about them. Sometimes we keep things to ourself because we feel that we will be misunderstood. I have this great desire to message my half-sister; to tell her what she deserves to hear, but I decide not to, because I don’t want to be in a place where I come into contact with her again. I hate it because it makes me think about how she insulted me without any hesitation and I just stood there and accepted it. I wish I could do the same to her, however, I know that contacting her again would bring me so much anger.

    “The one thing life has taught me is that most people spend their lives bottled up inside their houses doing the things they hate.”

    This quote, I feel, can be true for some. Also, house is completely different from home. I feel that being in an environment where you feel like you can’t connect with anybody at home can make you feel isolated. Going out is great, but I also believe that if you hate being in your own house, you can try to think of ways to make your time at home fun and create this happy environment. My sister-in-law once in a while asks me if I don’t get bored of being at home and I tell her no; I love spending time with my daughter.

historyquotesadvice
3

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Awesome read, Diani! I really loved these quotes and your thoughts on them. 🥰 I majored in Spanish and so I have read some of Federico Garcia Lorca's work. This makes me want to revisit it!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very interesting. I enjoyed reading this.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.