Journal logo

The Art of Worldbuilding

The Challenge every writer's faces

By InkGalaxies~Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Art of Worldbuilding
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

In the world of a writer, we build stories around cities both real and make-belief. We shape destiny craft fates and throw obstacles in the way for the heroes to face. We develop new cultures and people of all kinds of nationalities. To create a world from nothing is no easy task.

The creation of a world is all in our head and we have nothing to prove that what we’re doing is right until we get our readers, our audiences who fall in love with this unique world the way we as writers always have.

As a writer, I have seen no greater love or beauty than the creation of the many worlds I have created in the ten years I’ve had in writing novels full of different unique characters with their different views on life and love. Their own passions, each one stronger than the next.

I have written of werewolves and warlocks fighting barbaric witches, sisters lost in the sea, friends journeying to save each other from the most harmful of creatures. Of alien battles and superhuman with vast powers. Of fair folk both kind and evil, of Dark Witch covens and cursed wives. Of families torn apart by the evil doings of men and women alike. Of royalty lost to men’s overrun desire for power.

Words sometimes come easy, and they sometimes don’t come at all. Fear of the unknown is a constant battle. Never knowing if this is the story that people will want to read or a story destined to stay lost in the confines of the internet, never to be read. We cannot always fear the unknown or the journey not yet traveled.

Deep in the heart of the pandemic, I returned to my first true love, my love of words. Of imagined worlds full of people in all shapes and sizes bringing light to a world that was filled with despair and sorrow.

The written world both reading and writing have been essential to who I am as a person. Writing has always been the way I express myself in life. I’ve always created people who are reflections of people I’ve met and have made outstanding contributions in my life, whether they know it or not. Being able to see the world as a writer is an experience I would never change. I’ve always loved seeing how people react to my stories and the art of storytelling.

For me, reading is like watching tv or movies. It’s a form of entertainment, even for those who believe that stories are outdated things in this most technological world. The art of creating whole worlds is just as magical as making a building with pen and paper. Or a computerized framework. Stories are the benchmark of society. We all remember growing up on a certain series. Or listening to our mother’s voice read us stories that have formed our life in some way or the other.

In the world today, there are many novels out there now, that many people pride themselves on sharing with their children or future children. I’ve always loved Greek Mythology and the Fairy tales of the world because those were the kinds of books and stories that I grew up on as a child. My mother loved Fairy tales, and once I started elementarily, Greek mythology was taught throughout my school career alongside the Shakespearean sonnets that have made me fall in love with lyrical verse.

Writing will always be my passion, and hopefully one day my career as well, but I will settle for writing and sharing my interests online in blogs and fiction stories of all different kinds.

art
1

About the Creator

InkGalaxies~

I'm a published writer with two novels currently out there in the world, and four others posted on Wattpad. I've always loved the written word, both in the blogosphere and in fiction.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.