Journal logo

The Age of Social Media Enlightenment is Here to Stay

Marketing using social media analytics is a thing nowadays--a.k.a Analysis Paralysis

By KenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Courtesy: Stuart Miles via stockvault.net

Keyword SEO marketing… blogging with keywords… topic keywords… and the list goes on, and on. From most of the articles I have read online, I am supposed to do keyword research on my audience’s desires, then do topic research to see what they will read before I even think about putting pen to paper. It damn near takes to fun out of simply writing what I am thinking or feeling.

Subliminal keywords: (apps, data, blog, code)

Hence, the topic I choose to discuss with you is appropriately named “Analysis Paralysis.”

I understand I need to attend to these tasks sooner rather than later if I want my works to be read by millions of readers. But, by doing so, I find all this research, and analysis is influencing what I end up writing!

Instead of writing for you, the reader, I am now juxtaposing my words to make sure they align with the Gods of the algorithm. I must confess, I haven’t had much practice at writing like this. I normally just sit my butt down and write until my words stop flowing.

I am not adept at this “social media marketing” facet of writing. In fact, I am just the opposite. I’m quite aloof in trying to paint by someone else’s numbers. I find it difficult to remember all these new subtleties, while realigning them into the context of my article.

Maybe it is just me! After all, I do come from a very old school of thought that taught me the message is more important than the manner in which it is received.

How many of these SEO words am I supposed to use in each article? It beats me! Does it have to be so many keywords per 100 words written? From what I have read, I am supposed to inject these words nonchalantly into my sentences.

More keywords: (Google critical update, algorithm, ranking signal)

Oh look, here’s a couple of those keyword things laying on the ground: analysis paralysis. I think I’ll put those away in my pocket for use at a later date. On second thought, wait, I think these fit right here in this part of my article, so I’m going to go ahead and use them.

Analysis paralysis is what happens when you think about the problem far longer than you act on the problem. You see, keyword strategy can consume way more of your writing time, allowing you to accomplish less than you had hoped. That strategy can also cause lack of self-confidence, “in a funk-ness,” and depression. It can be, and is one of the primary causes of writer's block!

Once I realized this was happening to me, I resolved to write my normal, old way. I found it is better to edit what I have written to try to incorporate all those keywords and phrases.

Don’t be surprised if, someday, you search for this article and it arrives at the top of Google. Just search for it under ANALYSIS PARALYSIS.

Thanks for reading this!

This article was originally published elsewhere.

I appreciate your support! Please share my articles with your circle of family and friends. Please ask them to follow me for more of my work.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.