Journal logo

The 4 Biggest Myths Around Starting a Freelance Writing Gig

From someone who actually writes for a living

By Rick MartinezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

Starting a freelance writing career can be a daunting task.

You may have heard all sorts of myths about what it takes to be successful in this field. Some of it could be true, but I'd bet dollars to donuts a lot of it isn't. In fact, I'd wager that most of the un-true stuff was started by folks who tried and failed to become freelance writers.

In order to set yourself up for success, it's essential to separate fact from fiction.

And even more important, to actually bend your ear towards someone who is having the kind of success you envision.

Here are four of the most common myths about starting a freelance writing career - and the truth behind them.

But I have to tell ya, be prepared for some heartbreak, and at the same time, potentially make the decision to jump into freelancing soon after reading this.

Myth 1: It's too late to start

Now that you're aware of freelance writing, it might feel like everyone is doing it. And if so, then it's gotta be too late to start. Right?

I mean, freelancing and freelance writing has been around for a while.

Look, I get it. The feeling is natural, but your reasoning is not.

As we speak, there are companies, businesses, and entrepreneurs craving a qualified freelance writer. Whether your skill is content creation, article writing, or e-books. The work-from-home craze has created a massive shift in how we work and view "work."

Gobs of people are telling me that what they want to write about has already been written.

Well, yeah, of course it has. Nothing is original, and that's to be expected. And that's why we need your twist on what's already out there. Your voice is unique.

It's not too late to jump in the game now.

There are no unique messages. Only unique messengers.

Myth 2: You gotta find your niche ASAP

'But I'm interested in so many topics.' 'I don't know what to narrow down to.' 'Who would I do my freelance writing thing for?'

Honestly, you never really have your niche truly defined. At least that's been my experience over years of freelance writing. I mean, yeah, there are topics you know really well.

But, you change, they change, times change, and it's all super-fluid.

Plus, literally, everyone feels the same way when they start. We all sometimes think nothing is interesting about us and equally that we can't find 'just one thing' to laser in on.

It's normal, and it's ok.

Just pick one. The smaller your niche at the start, the better.

And then create one piece of content. It'll give you ideas for a second. Maybe if you're lucky to get tweet backs or comments, there's a third.

If you're in it for the long haul, know your niche will change anyways - my areas certainly changed over the years. Just find something you can write about for 5 minutes, and do it.

Figure out the rest as you go.

Myth 3: You need a degree in journalism, English, or communications

Not going to lie; this one kind of makes me chuckle.

Speaking as a nurse-turned-writer — I am living proof it's a lie.

My two cents: when it comes to writing, I've yet to meet an editor who cared whether I learned to sling ink at a journalism school or from a self-taught course. Either you've got it on the page, or you don't.

Do you need to be a natural-born writer? Absolutely not.

But you do need to start.

When someone comes to me asking how to become a prolific and paid freelance writer, I flat out tell them they need to start writing and hit publish.

Go to your favorite writers' first pubs and enjoy the awkward mess that is everyone's first few attempts at writing.

The sooner you start, the sooner you get past this mandatory learning curve.

Myth 4: I'm too scared to start; the writers I read seem so confident

I used to be terrified of putting my work there.

"I have to be confident to publish my work" is a myth because almost no one's confident when they start. Competence breeds confidence. And if you need permission, then you have it from me.

The more you practice, the better you'll get. It just takes that first step to get started; the first step is always the hardest. If you're terrified, you're in good company.

Just know that everyone else starting is just as scared and doing it anyway.

The final word

So, don't be discouraged - writing has been around for a while, and there is room for everyone. If you have something to say, share it with the world! And remember that practice makes perfect. Start small by writing about things you're passionate about and build up from there. The most important thing is to just start.

That's all from me for now. I hope this helped you see things from a different perspective. It might be that your own self-limiting thoughts are your most significant barrier. And the good thing is that you can reason your way out of it now.

If you want to learn more about freelance writing and how to get started, check out my free email course, The Freelance Writing Crash Course.

It's a 6-day free email course where you'll discover exactly how to start and grow a part-time freelance writing career.

You've got nothing to lose and freedom to gain.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.