Journal logo

Support

3 Months Post Surgery And This Means Everything

By Mike OwczarekPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I am 3 months post-surgery and there is one thing that has been super glaring for me – the power of support.

Before getting into how the support I have received has affected me, I’ll update on how I’ve been doing physically and mentally the past three months.

Physically, I keep doing better and better. This is only noticeable when I zoom out. Yes, of course, the pain has lessened than some moments earlier in the process. However, there still are times where I feel substantial pain.

The things that I’m mostly feeling now are pins and needs, along with discomfort on the top arch of my foot. There are some other aches and pains, but those are the main ones. This is welcoming because the pain that I have felt before surgery is significantly less. I do still feel it around my ankle from time to time, but sometimes I even ask myself if it is a phantom pain.

The rest of my body feels rested. My strength isn’t exactly where I would like it to be, but I also do think my body is getting a good rest. Body fat percentage wise I’m higher than I would like to be, and this is something I’m still working on as I am in a sedentary state a lot more than usual. When I go out on my feet, my foot/leg gets tired within 30-60 minutes, and that is where I still need the aid of crutches.

Mentally, I’m getting better. I still have my doubts and worries. There have been times though that have really opened my eyes to how progress is going, and I do believe I’m moving in the right direction. This is also a time where my patience is being tested. I can see me getting back to work near. I can see me working towards taking my first steps, whether walking and/or running.

This is then coupled with me seeing that I’m not doing those things yet.

And this is where the support has been so vital for me. The messages, that may seem little, but aren’t little at all, give me the energy, push, light, whatever you want to call it, it is needed on my part.

Also, yesterday I was able to check in at Equinox Hudson Yards to see how everyone is doing and say hi. I won’t go into the conversations with detail because they are super special to me, and I don’t feel like I would do them justice right now. I won’t forget them though and I can see myself sharing them in the future.

What I felt was a sense of team and them rooting for me. This beyond anything is making me want to continue to show up.

I figured that I was going to receive some “keep going’s” and positive vibes, and for some reason, I was a bit scared about this.

I know the reason and it was because I wasn’t receiving the support that I needed. This is no one’s fault, and it is up to me to go get it and be around this type of positive energy. On the drive back home, I couldn’t stop thinking about how much this meant to me and the boost that it provided me.

Vital.

With this said, I know how to approach the next 3 months and beyond – with the same positive outlook and support, even from myself.

When it comes to any injury, the mental aspect is so vital. It can hit the most and answers will be searched for. This is when a support system brings so much value.

Allowing others to be that guiding light, as well as supporting yourself through kind words, practical actions, and powerful beliefs, you will continue moving towards and through the finish line.

Life will continue to present obstacles; the challenge is to show up being fully yourself and knowing that you can take them on and get through.

I support your go.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Mike Owczarek

The freer the pen, the better the read.

Poetry, Articles, Blogs, Journal

Fitness | Mindset | Journey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.