Journal logo

Super Bowl Commercials

...but mostly chips

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

My daughter is taking a marketing class in high school. One of her assignments was to choose two super bowl commercials and answer the following questions:

  • What is the company of your commercial?
  • Describe the commercial in 2-4 sentences.
  • What product/service is being promoted?
  • Who is the target market for the commercial?
  • Do you think the ad is effective for reaching the target market? Explain.
  • We aren't football people but we 100% watch the halftime show! HAHA!

    Naturally, we immediately went to google and typed:

  • Best Super Bowl Commercials 2022
  • I immediately clicked on Top 10 Best Super Bowl Commercials

    I don't think I'm THAT difficult of a person to impress... and maybe I'm not one for commercials... but out of the 10 commercials on the page, I only laughed at 2.... TWO. I didn't even laugh in my head at the others...so my search continued!

    Fret not, I'm not one to stop at the first "Top 10" list that is offered upon me. I'll continue onto the next "Top 10" because we all know our tastes differ!

    Note: We had to use school appropriate videos

    Side Note #2: The school system blocked the Alexa Mind Reader Commercial Video...but didn't block the beer commercials...BUT WHY?

    Amazon's Big Game Commercial: Mind Reader

    I am still perplexed why my daughter's school blocked this video.

    While we didn't use this for the assignment, we found it hilarious and so on point. Can you imagine? What if Alexa actually started to do or say all of the things you were thinking? I mean, HOW EMBARRASSING.

    Push It | Flamin' Hot | Super Bowl LVI TV Spot

    When I saw sloths, I already knew it was going to be good.

    How can you go wrong with animals, music and food? While obviously some form of CGI, animated graphics, or whatever, I don't even care. We loved it, we laughed, and moved onto the next video.

    Pringles Super Bowl Commercial 2022 Stuck In

    How enticing to want to click the play button when you see someone eating cake off of a hand stuck inside of a pringles can.

    My daughter and I were beginning to wonder if the only funny commercials were all chip related.

    I mean, I don't know about you, but if I'm going to grab the last chip in a pringles can, I know better than to stick my entire arm in the container. However, as a marketing ploy? Absolutely, yes, I want to see that!

    After watching several DUD commercials about crypto, cars, and tacos... we moved onto the ones with chips again.

    Road to Super Bowl LVI | PepsiCo

    At first, I thought this was too cheesy to be funny. But then when Peyton started making fun of Eli for drinking too loud and Eli started making fun of Peyton for chewing to loud...I knew it was only going to get better.

    Just wait for Bradshaw... Just wait for some Olivia Rodrigo Karaoke...so good

    Lay's | "Golden Memories" Seth Rogen & Paul Rudd Super Bowl LVI Commercial

    Ok listen, I LOVE Seth Rogen & Paul Rudd so I told my daughter we HAD to watch this. YES, ANOTHER CHIP COMMERCIAL. It's SO FUNNY, I won't spoil it...just do yourself a favor and watch it.

    How Kenny G Created Busch Light's Super Bowl Serenade

    Even though I knew the commercials had to be age appropriate I watched a Busch Light commercial because KENNY G. Need I say more? Does the man AGE? Anyway... I didn't quite "get it" but this is where marketing gets fun and interesting and nerdy...so I'm posting this "how it was created" video instead of just the commercial. I feel like I have a little more understanding of why and how they went about it the way they did. They were appealing to a different age group (that I'm not in) which is probably why I wasn't feelin' it's vibes.

    Want to read more of my random ideas and thoughts? Click on my profile or see some highlights below! And if you're feeling extra generous, tips are ALWAYS appreciated!

    list
    Like

    About the Creator

    Vanessa R. Powell

    I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.