Journal logo

STORYTIME

my boss is psychotic (a must read)

By Victoria GriffithPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
STORYTIME
Photo by Nicholas Kusuma on Unsplash

I work at a hair salon in Alaska. I started in August, I just moved here, and all my life I always left jobs, my resume is full of jobs that I only worked at for six months tops.

This is my first receptionist job, I figured it was going to be professional, and a fun work environment. In the beginning I was correct, my boss smoked weed with me in the back of her salon, she washed and styled my hair on the clock, I get my hair done for free, it's an all natural, biodegradable, earth friendly salon! I was living the life, I saw myself working here for a long time.

When I tell you that changed in a blink of an eye, it did!

Stylists started warning me that boss lady was a volcano, she'll make you laugh and feel welcomed but one day, one RANDOM day, she will erupt and yell and make you cry. I laughed, I'm a tough bitch, I can handle it.

Until boss lady decided that when she had a problem, she would take mad shit to the manager and have her tell me, but the manager and I are close, so she doesn't just give me the warning, she gives me the deep dirty details of what she said.

Of course, if I do something wrong or something that the boss lady dislikes, I would expect the boss lady to tell me to my face, tell me how to do better, but no, instead I was annoyed, and the next day, boss lady acted like nothing happened.

How do I just go about my day knowing I did something, don't know how to fix it, but at the same time, act like everything was okay. I just kept my mouth shut. I slowly stopped talking over all, tried my best to just do my job, stay busy, and mind my business. OF COURSE, once that was what I was doing, she always asked me how I was doing, eight times a day. Started asking me what's wrong, what is going on.

The time came around where we did quarterly meetings, I had to sit down with the manager and boss lady to talk about my performance, and hopefully get a raise which I was really working hard for. It came down to it, she gave me a fifty cent raise, and told me she missed my sarcastic funny self. I faked laughed, acted nice, ignored everything because the one on one meeting was full of backhanded compliments.

More days go on, more days I am keeping to myself and I kept hearing all the things she would complain to my manager about. I was over it, there was only so much pretending I could do, she came in on one of her days off...

She asked me for the one millionth time, what was wrong? I, for the one millionth time, replied, nothing. She said are you sure? I informed her I was just not in the talking mood today, and she asked me this question..

"Not in a talking mood with everyone, or not in a talking mood with me?"

Well guys, I am no liar. I told her straight, I wasn't in the talking mood with her. The volcano erupted, one minute I was talking to the boss lady, the next I was talking to a sailor. Keep in mind, this receptionist job, which I later found out, had a high turnover rate.. which started to make sense.

She was saying, "What the fuck did I do? I have done absolutely nothing, I just came to drop off some fucking cupcakes."

I tried to stay calm and mention that nothing will be solved if she keeps swearing and disrespecting me like that.. She proceeded to say..

"How the fuck am I disrespecting you? You are fucking disrespecting me. I did nothing wrong. You are disrespecting me by not respecting the chain of command, if you have a problem with me, you talk to the manager."

ALSO NOTE, the manager is a borderline midget with a heart of gold, super sweet and tiny, is not the type to take on the responsibility of boss lady's emotional baggage.

I tried to leave the situation, said I will be going home, I don't mind if she fires me, but this is getting out of hand, she proceeded to say, "Shut the fuck up and sit the fuck down, I am talking to you."

I KID YOU NOT, I thought I was on a prank t.v. show, cameras were about to come out, but nope. Looking back at it now, I wish.

I told her I don't think she should be talking to me that way.

Y'ALL.

SHE HAD THE AUDACITY TO SAY, "I AM THE BOSS AND YOU ARE THE EMPLOYEE, I AM ALLOWED TO TALK TO YOU ANY FUCKING WAY I WANT."

THAT WAS IT, I tried to get my shit and leave and tell me why, that in this very moment, my shit WENT HIDING. I couldn't find ANYTHING. I was stuck, not only by the fact that I couldn't find my keys, but I kid you not, this bitch wasn't letting me leave!

I tried to walk past her to go find my stuff, SHE SHOVED ME. MY BOSS FUCKING PUSHED ME and told me to sit the fuck down, I said, "Did you really just do that?"

She let me walk past her then... UNTIL WE GOT IN THE BACK ROOM, that bitch then slammed the door, stood in front of it, and continued to belittle me.

My coworkers were right.. I cried.

She then left and I had to CONTINUE WORKING LIKE THE GOOD EMPLOYEE I FUCKING AM.

Anyways... plot twist, I AM STILL FUCKING HERE.

humor
2

About the Creator

Victoria Griffith

i'm new, just trying to make some extra money during this pandemic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.