Journal logo

Speech Recognition Software To Create More Engaging Content

Part 1. Your words will echo harder this way.

By Giorgos PantsiosPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Speech Recognition Software To Create More Engaging Content
Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

Okay, so I started this initiative when I got bored writing. It’s not perfect yet, but it’s doing its best. I’m a perfectionist, and I always try to improve my writing. I knew I needed to write the way I talk. I Googled “speech to text”, click on the first link in the results, and voila. I could speak and create content just like that. And it almost sucked…

Why did I decide to write as I speak?

  1. To save time
  2. To write the way I speak — literally
  3. To save time, yes I love saving time.

While I think that I’ve made a huge leap in writing with that strategy, I need to find better ways to boost it and make it perfect.

Maybe buying a better microphone, maybe taking advantage of my android device, which has a great microphone implemented. Things to consider while toying around with speech more.

Oh, maybe talk understandable English as well, damn it Giorgos. Being native Greek doesn't help.

But there are ways to improve your language as well.

The Benefits of Writing the Way You Speak

You write way faster, which is ironic because you’re not writing.

With a simple ctrl+A, I can see that I have over 1200 words to edit. This all happened in 15 minutes or something. I never thought I could make such a story so fast. I know it needs more editing than my other stories, but it’s easier to edit something than nothing at all.

You can multitask (writing and podcast at the same time)

I also think I can benefit from this by creating a podcast at the same time. Talking and writing is now achieved simultaneously so I can search for more ways to benefit from this. I want to write for Vocal, for Medium, for NewsBreak, and create a podcast as well.

Sharing my content (that I created at the same time) on 4 different platforms, is the best way to go. This leaves me more time to create my brand and my social media impact to have more eyeballs looking at me.

I need to further improve my plan and write more stories to gather the ground I lost while I was taking a break thinking about what was right with my writing career. Now, tweaking my strategy is the only thing left to achieve success.

You can regain your comfort

Another important benefit of using speech recognition to write is comfort. If you are writing for hours, you need some time off to ease your spine and your eyes. By talking you can close your eyes, relax in your bed and create content at the same time. Isn't it wonderful?

Did I cover the benefits already for you? Hell yeah, I did.

How Will Your Life Look Without Technology for 15 Days?

A personal favorite for winter

My house is cold, and my bedroom is even colder. So my hands can’t type as fast as I want to.

Speech recognition is here to give me everything I need to not miss a day due to discomfort.

This one will be of no use to you, but I wanted to share it anyway.

Simple Ways to Boost Your Speech Talk

Create a template of your topic

You have a great idea that you need to cover, but you start talking and it’s all over the place.

The easiest fix for this is to write down some key points of your story. Your h3 titles and some other ideas as well. Then you can cover the whole thing in independent parts.

That helps the readers as well. Keeping a structure with your writing makes it easier for people to read it.

Don’t look at the result

I think for the first try this is try was a blast.

Why?

Because I didn't know if it was a blast or not!

I’m trying not to pay attention to what I write because that will trigger me and there are tons of mistakes to fix but I need to keep the flow going.

“But what if I make no sense in the editing process”?

Well, speech recognition mistakes are optically different than what you wanted to say, but phonetically they make sense. I trust that you’ll understand what you wanted to say in the long run. After all, it’s a new experience, and with experience comes perfection.

Use a cheat sheet for SEO optimization

Search Engine Optimization is important to keep in mind while you talk. For me, it gets even harder to talk in a language that I’m not comfortable with, yet.

To add to that, I need to imply my keywords for the said story while I’m talking. That’s damn hard!

I will put my keywords on paper, or on my second monitor. I will throw them in my story when it feels right so I can then edit them better.

Software/hardware Needed to Achieve Speech Recognition

Every Windows PC has speech recognition software installed. Just press the combination of Window Key+H. I haven't tested how fast can I talk without making a single mistake. But it gets way faster than typing and getting your fingers hurt!

I’m also using a cheap microphone, which I know matters to the quality of my talking. I will consider buying a better one. You can find professional-level microphones from $20–30. It’s a small price to pay if you consider the endless benefits.

As for paid software or free software, I will do more research and reach a conclusion in the second part of my story. One week after I get familiar with this new habit.

Don’t get discouraged by bad quality in the beginning

If you compare my writing through the months, I have some major improvements. Look at my first article for instance and then take a look at one of my latest stories.

In the same manner, you need to trust the process of speech to text. It’s something new, so you need to first get the grip of it.

Final Thoughts

I wrote a first raw draft in 15 minutes. It took me a good 20 minutes to do a second, almost complete edit. All in all, I was over in less than an hour.

1200 words in less than an hour? Splendid.

I used to write a full story in 2 hours. But now I can “write” 3 stories in 3 hours. The only thing left is better brainstorming now…

I need to take it to the next level. Improving my software and hardware will benefit my speech-to-write process, but I also need to feel more comfortable with talking in a language that’s not native as well.

In one week, I will present you with the second part of this story, with more experience and more research. I hope that you too as well will jump in the speech to write train and give it a ride.

Only one thing is left. Telling my mother that I’m not crazy when I talk alone in English in my bed…

Originally posted on Medium

how to
Like

About the Creator

Giorgos Pantsios

Fulltime Writer | Fulltime learner | Polymath from Greece | Exploring life | Modern Philosopher | Phone Photographer https://linktr.ee/giorgospantsios

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.