Journal logo

Speaking for the Dead

Civitatem Servamus Mortes Loquimur

By Adaline ArcherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
12
Speaking for the Dead
Photo by Katherine Kromberg on Unsplash

I love my job because it is unique.

If someone asks me what I do they had better be prepared to listen to me talk about it for a while, because once I start talking I may never shut up.

I am a forensic anthropologist.

Most people do not know what a forensic anthropologist is or what they do, so let me help shed some light on things. A forensic anthropologists main job is to locate and interpret evidence in an attempt to identify human remains and determine the cause of their death. There is so much to look at within forensic anthropology – you can specialize in the decomposition of the bodies, the bioarchaeological aspect, subadults, taphonomy, trauma, and more. Forensic anthropologists work closely with law enforcement on unidentified remains cases. From the moment a body is discovered having minimal flesh, a forensic anthropologist is brought in. Furthermore, in the case where a body has yet to be located, a forensic anthropologist can help locate potential remains and excavate them for further analysis.

The job of a forensic anthropologist is to first determine the identity of an individual. This is done by looking at specific features on the skeleton. These features indicate the main characteristics of the individual which are their height, ancestry, sex, and age. From there, a general profile is created. Then, more specific traits are looked into to try and minimize the possibility of this individual being confused with someone else. Individualizing characteristics can include implants such as hip replacements, broken bones, missing bones, etc. Once a probable individual is determined, the identify is confirmed using techniques, such as dental records. Once the identity is confirmed, the cause of death of the individual is determined. At times, this is not possible but, in other cases, there is enough damage to the skeleton that a cause of death can be positively assessed.

I know this job is not for most people, but I love my job, and I will tell you why.

I have always wanted to help people. Growing up I wanted to be a doctor, more specifically a surgeon, so I could help put people back together. That did not work out so well: apparently, you need really steady hands for that, and you need to be personable – two things I was not. So, I moved away from the living and towards the deceased. I thought about becoming a coroner and determining how people passed away. These individuals were usually already known and if they were unknown, then police would figure out their identity – generally, as there is enough skin to recognize them. So, naturally, I gravitated towards a harder task – identifying the decaying. I figured I would work on helping those that have been forgotten and unidentified.

Working as a forensic anthropologist allows me to help both the living and the deceased. By identifying individuals that have been skeletonized, I help give them back their voice. They are no longer forgotten or unidentified – they have a name, a voice. They are able to regain the dignity that was stolen from them when they were left, forgotten, unidentified. What most people seem to forget is that these skeletons are not just a pile of bones, they were once people. People who had loved ones, people who were out there doing something with their life, people just like you. By identifying these people and determining how they passed, their family, friends, and whoever may be looking for them can finally rest knowing what happened. It may not be a happy ending but let me ask which is worse:

Forever wondering what happened to your loved one, where they are, whether they are dead or alive.

OR

Knowing what happened to them even if it is not pretty, that they passed away, they can finally be buried, and everyone can finally get closure.

This is why I do my job and why I love it. I get to answer the unanswerable questions, fill in the gaps, help people find peace.

I am a forensic anthropologist – I speak for the dead.

Civitatem Servamus Mortes Loquimur.

career
12

About the Creator

Adaline Archer

Just a girl writing about the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam Bailey3 months ago

    Finally, I can now heave a sigh of relief all thanks to [Hackingprofessional3AtgmailDotcom]. After losing my money to an online investment I did, it felt like all was over for me. Little did I know that my guardian angels would send him my way. Thank you, HackProf and your wonderful team, for the work you guys put in to recover my lost $25,000 in Bitcoin. I am forever grateful.

  • David Morton Rintoulabout a year ago

    Thanks for the great read. I respect and admire you for what you do. Someone has to tell the stories for those who can no longer speak for themselves. Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.