Journal logo

Small town boy who become journalist in a big city

Small things have big Impacts

By HarmanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Small town boy who become journalist in a big city
Photo by Peter Conlan on Unsplash

Growing up in a small town, I always felt like I was living in a bubble. I longed for the excitement and diversity of the big city, and I knew that becoming a journalist was my ticket out. After graduating from college, I landed an entry-level job at a local newspaper, where I quickly made a name for myself by breaking several high-profile stories.

Despite my success, I felt like something was missing. I was reporting on the news, but I wasn't connecting with the people behind the stories. I felt like I was just scratching the surface of what it meant to be a journalist.

At first, I was thrilled to be living my dream. I was working long hours, covering breaking news stories, and meeting all kinds of fascinating people. But as time went on, I began to realize that there was a downside to this lifestyle as well. I was surrounded by so much suffering and hardship, and it was easy to become jaded and disconnected from the world around me.

One day, while on assignment, I had an encounter that would forever change my perspective on life. I was sent to cover a local community event in a disadvantaged neighbourhood, where many residents lived in poverty and struggled to make ends meet. As I arrived at the event, I noticed a group of children playing in a nearby park. They were running around, laughing, and having fun, completely oblivious to the challenges and hardships that surrounded them.

At first, I didn't pay much attention to them. I was focused on getting my interviews and photos for the story. But then, something caught my eye. There was one young boy who was standing off to the side, watching the others play. He looked sad and alone, like he didn't belong.

As I approached the group, I noticed one young boy who stood out from the rest. He was quiet and reserved, standing off to the side and watching the others play. I approached him and struck up a conversation, asking him about his life and what he enjoyed doing. He opened to me and shared his struggles, including his family's financial struggles and his own battles with illness.

As I listened to his story, I was struck by his resilience and determination. Despite the challenges he faced, he was still able to find joy in the simple things in life, like playing with his friends and exploring the world around him. His outlook on life was a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there is always hope and a reason to keep pushing forward.

This encounter had a profound impact on me and my perspective on life. It reminded me that as a journalist, my job is not just to report the news, but to share the stories of those who are often overlooked and forgotten. It reminded me of the importance of empathy, compassion, and human connection in a world that often seems cold and impersonal.

In the years since that encounter, I have made it my mission to seek out and tell the stories of those who are often silenced and marginalized. I have learned that every person has a story to tell, and that by sharing their stories, we can build empathy, understanding, and a sense of community.

That small moment in my life may have seemed insignificant at the time, but it had a big impact on the way I approach my work as a journalist. It reminded me of the power of human connection and the importance of empathy and compassion in a world that can often seem cold and impersonal. And most importantly, it reminded me that behind every news story, there are real people with real struggles and real triumphs, and it is our job as journalists to tell their stories.

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.