Journal logo

Siri and the Pear Tree

Story of a cat that protected a pear tree

By Tanedra TurnerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Siri and the Pear Tree
Photo by Dim Hou on Unsplash

Back when I was living with my family, going to a miserable job, and self loathing everyday, a pretty little kitten found her way to our door and refused to leave. We had three different entrances to our home and she went to every door meowing until she got our attention. Well me being a big softie for babies, kittens, puppies, and anything adorable couldn't resist the little pleading meows and finally took the little kitten in. I immediately named her Osiris. I don't know why the name Osiris fit her so well or came to me, but I honestly believe it was one of the beginnings of my spiritual journey and enlightenment (that's a whole other topic for another day). While her name was Osiris, my sister and I called her Siri. She was very playful, super goofy, and loved cuddling. She was beautiful daughter kitty and we were very close. Siri had her own room, a very big room too. She loved playing under the door and enjoyed that she had her own privacy. She loved taking naps in high spaces, so we made sure she kept a bed anywhere with a shelf in her room. Siri managed to get into a lot of trouble but she would give us a good laugh at the same time. She seemed very comfortable around us and we enjoyed having her. Now, one thing my family could do very well was move, and since I can remember my family has always had a new house, or place every 3 months to 2 years, depending. So while I was very used to moving, Siri was not, but I couldn't leave her in our old neighborhood. We relocated to a new more spacious home with a big back yard and a peaceful neighborhood. Siri didn't take long to get used to the new house or neighborhood, and being the sassy cat she was she immediately went out for exploration. Siri quickly made friends with the other neighborhood cats and loved staying out late at night. Unlike the other neighborhood cats, Siri was very unique. She could be anywhere but when I called her name she knew that meant she needed to come home. She would hop the fence and run inside up to her perch and meow to me about her day. Yes, Siri was very adventurous and she loved being out in her natural habitat, but also loved being home. One day I'd had a very long 12 hours at work and I wanted to go home and see best friend. I pull into the driveway, I call her name and she doesn't show up. I called her few more times, my sister called her still no Siri. I was beginning to panic and worry. I was too afraid to drive around looking for her because I didn't want to see her run over in the middle of the street. Just as my sister and I were about to go inside we heard a very soft "meow." Of course we're looking around wondering where its coming from but seeing nothing, but the meows were so close. Instinctively I look up and there is Miss Siri on the roof of the house nipping at the branches of the tree in front of the house. I'm calling for her to get down and she turns and leaves. She returns with a squirrel in her mouth and drops in front of us as a present. I kindly thank her an give her pets and hugs just relieved she was okay. Siri got pregnant soon after and had six big beautiful kittens we couldn't keep as we were in transition to another home once again. Siri soon got pregnant again with another set of kittens and I'm under the impression that someone found her on one of her explorations because she didn't come home after that. After Siri left we noticed that the tree in front of the house that Siri used to nip at had fruit that had fallen. Since I'd never actually paid attention to the tree accept for when Siri nipped at it, it surprised me when I saw a bunch of pears at the base of the tree. Thinking back to the squirrels we used to find around the house as gifts, it made a lot of since now why she stayed close to the tree in the front yard. Looking around at the pears I noticed some had chunks bitten out of them and some where still intact. For the ones that were still good, I took them inside washed and ate them. I think of Siri often because she was my little baby kitten and I knew she didn't coincidently show up at my front door. Siri and I needed each other in that period of life and she was my best friend. I miss her dearly and hope that the family that she's with now makes her very happy. Before we left that house, I went to tree and carved in "Siri's Pear Tree." I hope they find it and hope it keeps the squirrels away.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Tanedra Turner

30 year old new mom who's trying to discover herself, her passion, and why she's so weird. Welcome to my world. Please fasten your seat belts and hold on tight.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.